MONUMENTS & TRAILS

Western history is filled with stories of the great men and women – Mormon pioneers and pioneers of many other faiths and motivations – whose stalwart lives were the stuff of which history was made. All during its eighty-year history, the membership of the Sons of Utah Pioneers has actively placed monuments to mark historic sites in the Great Basin of the West. It is important to remember, with appreciation, the pioneers whose colonizing efforts have made these places significant. On the pages which follow, information is provided about the most prominent of these monuments.

If further information is desired about any of these monuments or markers, please contact the National Headquarters of the Sons of Utah Pioneers at (801) 484-4441.

Other organizations dedicated to preserving pioneer history have also erected monuments and placed markers to catch our attention. One such organization was the Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, organized many years ago with the late George Albert Smith (then an apostle of the LDS Church) as its president. This organization no longer exists. The Sons of Utah Pioneers has been invited to list the UPTLA monuments and locations on our web site, along side with those of the S.U.P., with the sponsorship appropriately noted.

Four hundred monuments are listed on a Utah State Government Web site. These include many placed by the S.U.P., the Daughters of Utah Pioneers, the U.S. National Park Service and other agencies. To study these, CLICK HERE.

To view brief descriptions of Monuments and Markers placed by the Sons of Utah Pioneers and UPTLA, you may select and click on one of the states listed below, then scroll to the locations in which you are interested. We encourage you and your family to visit these monuments in person, and gain a broader appreciation of the inspirational events in early pioneer history.

ArizonaCaliforniaIdahoIllinoisNevadaNew Mexico
PennsylvaniaUtahWyomingGreece

Arizona

FREDONIA, ARIZONA

  • Pipe Springs National Monument – (directional plaque) (UPTLA #29)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association & Citizens of Kanab Stake, 1933
    Location: Small roadside park in Fredonia Arizona.
    Fifteen miles southwest is Historic “Pipe Springs” early pioneer outpost and first Telegraph Station in Arizona.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

MESA, ARIZONA

  • Early Arizona Pioneers (SUP #20)
    Sponsor: Mesa Chapter, 1988
    Location: Pioneer Park, 526 E. Main Street
    The first settlers that came to the Mesa, Arizona area in 1878 found the remains of an irrigation system built over a thousand years earlier by the Hohokam—“those who are gone.” After eight months of hard work, the new settlers restored one of the ancient canals and water once again flowed to the new settlement. The monument statues depict the first four pioneers who entered the mesa: Francis Martin Pomeroy, Charles Crismon, George M. Sirrine and Charles I. Robson.

PHOENIX, ARIZONA

  • First Latter-day Saint Chapel in Phoenix (SUP D-1)
    Sponsor: Salt River Valley Chapter, 1982
    Location: 7th ST & Monroe, Heritage Square, Pheonix, AZ

PIPE SPRINGS

  • Pipe Springs National Monument (UPTLA #5)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and Citizens of Kanab Stake, 1933
    Location: 15 miles west of Fredonia, Arizona on Highway 389
    Established May 31, 1923, through efforts of Stephen T. Mather and friends. Occupied in 1863, by Dr. James M Whitmore who, with Robert McIntire was killed 4 miles S.E. of Pipe Springs January 8, 1866, by Navajo and Piute Indians.
    WINDSOR CASTLE Erected by direction of Brigham Young in 1869 – 70 by Anson Windsor for handling the Church tithing herds and as a frontier refuge from Indians. It became the first telegraph office in Arizona when the Deseret Telegraph Line reached here in December 1871.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP photo

SAFFORD, ARIZONA

  • Spencer W. Kimball Home (SUP #F-1)
    Sponsor: Andrew Kimball, 1982
    When Andrew Kimball was called to preside over the St. Joseph Stake in 1898, church members provided ten acres on which he built an adobe and brick home in 1902. His son, Spencer W. Kimball, 12th President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, lived here from age 7 until his marriage at the age of 22 to Camilla Eyring of Pima.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP photo

ST. JOHNS, ARIZONA

  • Early Settlers, Salem, Arizona (SUP #14)
    Sponsor: Little Colorado River Chapter, 1987
    In August of 1880, the first Mormon settlement in St. Johns, Arizona was established with D. K. Udall as the first bishop. President John Taylor charged the settlers to keep proper accounts, organize the Priesthood, collect and account for tithing’s, and teach diligently. This settlement was named after the ancient biblical city of Salem where Abraham paid tithes to the great High Priest, later known as Jerusalem.

STONEMAN LAKE, ARIZONA

  • Palatkwapi Trail (SUP #40)
    Sponsor: Mesa Chapter, 1991
    For many centuries Native Americans used this trail as a trade route to traverse the high country from the Hopi Mesas to the Verde Valley. During the mid-1800s, the United States Army, commercial companies, mail routes used portions of this trail, along with early Mormons migrating from Utah and Idaho.

Back to top

California

Back to top

CARSON PASS, CALIFORNIA

  • Melissa Coray Peak (SUP #52)
    Sponsor: Sierra Chapter, 1993
    The United States Board of Geographic Names, in October, 1993, named a 9,763-foot peak in the Sierra Nevada mountains in honor of Melissa Coray, the wife of Mormon Battalion Sergeant William Coray. Sergeant Coray was among the 45 Battalion men who blazed the “highway” through Carson pass, about 50 miles southwest of present-day Carson City, Nevada. Melissa had signed on as a laundress and was assigned with her husband to the Mormon Battalion Company B.

COLOMA, CALIFORNIA

  • Mormon Worker’s Cabin: Gold Discovery Site
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1972
  • Nathanial (Nathan) Hawk
    Sponsor: Sierra Chapter, 1977
    Location: Coloma Pioneer Cemetery
    Born in 1823, Nathan Hawk was a member of Co. B of the U.S. Mormon Battalion and was known as a “Rider of the California Star Express.” He carried the message of the“Gold strike” to the east where it eventually spread around the world. He died in 1910 in Coloma, California.

SAN BERNARDINO, CALIFORNIA

  • Mormon Lumber Road (SUP #34)
    Sponsor: Glendora Chapter, 1991
    Location: 50 miles from Glendora off Highway 18 towards Crestline & Arrowhead Lake
    In the spring of 1852, over one hundred Mormon men constructed a road up Waterman Canyon, past this marker spot, and into prime timber, where six sawmills were established by 1854. The lumber hauled over this road was used to build San Bernardino and were sometimes called “Mormon Banknotes.”

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA

  • Mormon Battalion (SUP #V)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1968
    Location: Presidio Park, Old Town, San Diego.

    This famous monument commemorates the arrival in Southern California of the 500 members of the Mormon Battalion, at the conclusion of their 2,000 mile trek from Council Bluffs Iowa, in support of the United States’ war with Mexico in 1847. This trek is reputed to be the longest sustained military march in history. Recruited from the ranks of struggling Mormon Pioneers as they made their way west, many of the men left their families to travel alone over the trackless prairies. Brigham Young’s prophetic promise of safety, if they would keep the Lord’s commandments, was completely fulfilled, as the Battalion was never involved in hostilities and none lost their lives in the war to which they had been enlisted.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP photo

SQUAW VALLEY, CALIFORNIA

  • Mormon Emigrant Trail (SUP #A-1)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1974

SYCAMORE VALLEY RANCH, CALIFORNIA

  • 1st Camp of Pioneers in California (SUP #S)
    Sponsor: Southern California, 1962

Back to top

Idaho

Back to top

BURTON (HENRY’S FORK), IDAHO

  • Honor Of The Mormon Pioneers of Idaho – Builders of North Fork (Snake River) Ferry (UPTLA #70)
    Sponsor: Burton Troops 46 & 146 BSA and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
    Location: Near Burton, Idaho, 6.5 miles west of the corner of Center St. and Main St. in Rexburg, on Hwy 33
    The first ferry on Henry’s Fork of Snake River was first operated near this spot March 26, 1883. It was constructed by Rexburg Stake Pioneers to facilitate colonization of this valley.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

DOWNEY, IDAHO

  • Captain Charles Jefferson Hunt (UPTLA #119)
    Sponsors: Descendants of Captain Hunt and the Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1950
    Location: Eight miles south of Downey, Idaho at Redrock Pass
    Charles Jefferson Hunt was born in Kentucky 20 January 1804. During the exodus of members of the LDS Church from Illinois, he enlisted in the Mormon Battalion and served as Captain of Company “A” and as assistant executive officer, in the historic march of the Battalion from Council Bluffs, Iowa to San Diego, California, 1846-47. Under appointment by President Brigham Young in 1851, Captain Hunt was guide for the Mormon pioneers who settled in San Bernardino, California.. His pioneer service included also helping to settle Provo, Parowan and Huntsville, (which bears his name) in Utah, and Oxford, Idaho. A convert to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, he was loyal, obedient and faithful to the end. He died in Idaho 11 May 1879.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

FORT HALL

  • Fort Hall – An Indian Trading Post (UPTLA #11)
    Sponsors: Eastern Idaho Area Boy Scouts of America, and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1932
    Location: Just south of the town of Fort Hall on Hwy. 91, on the Oregon Trail.
    The first habitation in this region was a fort built by Nathaniel J. Wyeth on the Snake River, fourteen miles west of this monument, July 15 – August 4, 1834. It was named for Henry Hall, senior member of Wyeth’s firm. The original stockade was eighty feet square. It was purchased by Hudson’s Bay Company in 1837 and rebuilt with adobe walls and substantial roofs, becoming an important station on the California – Oregon Trail. The trappers abandoned the fort it about 1856.

IDAHO FALLS, IDAHO

  • Idaho Falls LDS Hospital (SUP #30)
    Sponsor: Eagle Rock Chapter, 1990
    Location: Near the Snake River in downtown Idaho Falls, near the corner of Memorial Drive and Riverside Drive. GPS N 43 degrees 29 minutes 50.14 seconds, W 112 degrees 02 minutes, 29.79 seconds.
    Construction of this hospital commenced in 1919, though completion was delayed because of a depressed economy. As an LDS Church facility, it was dedicated by Church President Heber J. Grant, on 22 October 1923. The school of nursing was essential in the operation of the hospital, the third floor being residence for the student nurses. The hospital is remembered for compassionate service to all people of the Upper Snake River Valley, regardless of race and religion. After the Church divested its ownership in April 1975, it continued serving the community under names of Idaho Falls Hospital and Riverview Hospital until December 1968. The monument is built of bricks from the original building.

LINCOLN, IDAHO FALLS

  • Old Steam Engine (SUP #105)
    Sponsor: Eagle Rock Chapter, 2001
    Location: Evans Grain and Elevator Coop
    A grand relic of Pioneer days.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP MonumentsSUP Monuments

PARIS, IDAHO

  • Charles Coulson Rich, 1809 – 1883 (UPTLA #73)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, The Citizens of Bear Lake Valley, and his Descendants, 1937; Refurbished by LDS Church, 2006
    Location: Tabernacle Square, on the south side of the Historic Tabernacle.Charles C. Rich was a Pioneer builder of the west. Major-General of the Nauvoo Legion. Alderman of the City of Nauvoo, in the time of Joseph Smith. Pioneer of Utah, 1847. Chairman of the first committee to organize civil government in the Rocky Mountains. Colonizer of San Bernardino Valley, California in 1851. First Mayor of San Bernardino City. Member of the Utah Territorial Legislature for many years. Colonizer of Bear Lake Valley, 1863, where he lived and died. Husband of six wives and father of fifty children. Friend of the Indians, humanitarian, Apostle of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints for thirty-four years. One of God’s Noblemen.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

PRESTON, IDAHO

  • Battle of Bear River – Bear River Massacre (UPTLA #16)
    Sponsor: Franklin County Chapter, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers; Cache Valley Council, Boy Scouts of America; and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1932
    Location: Highway 91 NW of Preston about 3 miles, at the intersection with Hot Springs Road, and ¼ mile after crossing the Bear River.
    GPS: N 42 degrees, 08 minutes, 26.88 seconds; W 111 degrees, 54 minutes, 40.38 seconds, elevation 4495 ft.
    This monument is a rock structure, with plaques on each side, and a miniature Teepee on the top. One plaque is by the Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and others (above – 1932). Another plaque is by the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers (1953), and another by the National Park Service (1990). The fourth plaque is missing. There are other explanatory signs nearby by other organizations.
    The Battle of Bear River, as it was called, and later designated as the Bear River Massacre, was fought in this vicinity January 29, 1863. Col. P. E. Connors, led 300 California Volunteers from Camp Douglas, Utah, against Bannock and Shoshone Indians, who had been blamed for hostile attacks on emigrants and settlers. Although exact numbers differ, more than 400 Indians were trapped and destroyed in battle as they occupied a winter camp that offered ideal protection in Battle Creek Canyon. They suffered a military disaster unmatched in western history, when Connor’s Force struck at daybreak. 250 to 300 Indians were killed, including 90 women and children, and lodges were burned. Very few Indians survived, not only the battle but also the cold.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

     

REXBURG, IDAHO

  • Early Rexburg (SUP #111)
    Sponsor: Upper Snake River Valley Chapter, 2001
    Location: 51 N. Center

    This marker shows a map of the original street plan for the Rexburg settlement, locating
    the homes of the first settlers and other historical buildings.
  • Rexburg Stake Pioneers (UPTLA #54)Sponsor: Members of Rexburg Stake & Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1935
    Location: 51 North Center St., on the south side of the east steps of the Rexburg Civic Center, formerly LDS Tabernacle
    This plaque lists the names of the founders of Rexburg, March 11, 1883. It also reiterates the Pioneer Call: “Go into the Snake River Country. Found settlements, care for the Indians; stand upon an equal footing, and co-operate in making improvements. Gain influence among all men, and strengthen the cords of the Stakes of Zion” John Taylor, George Q. Cannon, Joseph F. Smith.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

SHELLY, IDAHO

    • Historic Covered Wagon Display (SUP #126)
      Sponsor: Eagle Rock Chapter, 2005
      Location: North Bingham County Historical Park, 587 E. 1250 N. Shelley, ID 83274
      GPS: N 43° 22´ 18.44″, W 112° 10´.96″

      This is a restored covered wagon typical in historic times, placed among other historic artifacts and buildings.

 

    • Historic Sheep Camp Display (SUP #127)
      Sponsor: Eagle Rock Chapter, 2006
      Location: North Bingham County Historical Park, 587 East 1250 North, Shelley, Idaho.
      GPS: N 43° 22.343´, W 112° 10.008´
      During the early years of sheep ranching, the sheep camp was pulled by two horses and sometimes in the steep areas, four horses were needed. It had the cook box and originally a wood burning stove. The Thompson Sheep Company owned the wagon, and the Eagle Rock SUP Chapter, with much difficulty, restored it to its original condition and it was donated to the North Bingham County Historical Park. Sheep ranching was an important part of Idaho history, and it was a part of the Thompson family history for many years until 1985 when they turned to cattle ranching. Allen and Lorene Thompson wanted it to be an educational tool.

 

ST. ANTHONY, IDAHO

  • Fort Henry (on the Snake River) (UPTLA #40 )
    Sponsor: Idaho Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association & Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: Located on the southwest side of Clyde Keefer Memorial Park on the south side of the Henry’s Fork of the Snake River, in downtown St. Anthony, Idaho, on the east side of Bridge Street
    Fort Henry was built in the fall of 1810 by Captain Andrew Henry and his companions of the Missouri Fur Company, about five miles below here on the left bank of this stream (Henry’s Fork of Snake River), first buildings erected by Americans in the present State Of Idaho. It was abandoned in the spring of 1811 but was occupied in October of that year by Wilson Price Hunt and the Overland Astorians, who left their horses, built canoes and sought to continue their journey by water to Astoria. The water journey ended at Cauldron Linn on Snake River near the site of Milner Dam. The party proceeded on foot, arriving at Astoria Feb. 15, 1812.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

Back to top

Illinois

Back to top

NAUVOO, ILLINOIS

  • Nauvoo Flag Pole (SUP #C-1)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1978
    Location: At the west end of Parley’s Street, near the Mississippi River, adjacent to the memorial kiosk.
    On August 19, 1978, the Sons of Utah Pioneers donated a flag pole at Nauvoo with the inscription at the base of the pole: “In memory of our God, our religion, and freedom, and our peace, our wives, and our children” (Alma 46:12).

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments
  • Womens Relief Society (UPTLA no number)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1933
    Location: At the entrance to the Monument to Women Gardens, Nauvoo, Illinois
    This monument originally marked the site of the building in which the Relief Society was organized March 17, 1842. It names those who were involved in the organizing and outlines the purposes of the organization.
    In 1952, the monument was moved to the Temple lot. The Church, in recognition of its historical value, placed it at the entrance to the Monument to Women Gardens in 1988.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

NEW SALEM, ILLINOIS

  • Abraham Lincoln, Frontiersman (SUP #E)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1951
    Dr. Avard Tennyson Fairbanks was the sculptor for this larger-than-life bronze statue, which became known as “Abraham Lincoln, Frontiersman.” It was donated to the State of Illinois by the Sons of Utah Pioneers. The outline of this statue of Lincoln was chosen to appear on the new Illinois state quarter.
    The original sculpture is displayed in the Fairview, Utah Museum of History and Art.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

Back to top

Nevada

Back to top

GENOA, NEVADA

  • Genoa Mormon Station (SUP #36)
    Sponsor: Sierra Chapter, 1991
  • Genoa First Cabin (SUP #59)
    Sponsor: Sierra Chapter, 1992

Back to top

New Mexico

  • Mormon Battalion Route (UPTLA #99)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer and Landmarks Association, May 30, 1940
    Location: Between Santa Fe and Albuquerque

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

Back to top

Pennsylvania

Back to top

WALLACE, CHESTER COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

  • Mormon Hollow (SUP #116)
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter, 2005

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments SUP Monuments

Back to top

Utah

Back to top

CLICK ON A COUNTY BELOW TO SKIP TO THAT SECTION.
Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Garfield, Iron, Juab, Kane, Morgan, Rich, Salt Lake, San Juan, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch, Washington, Weber

Beaver County, Utah

BEAVER, UTAH

  • Fort Cameron (UPTLA #67)
    Sponsor: Beaver Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
    Location: 200 South Main Street
    Fort Cameron was located two miles east of the city of Beaver. Established as the Post of Beaver, May 25, 1872 by Eighth U.S. Infantry, Major John D. Wilkins commanding. The military reservation, declared May 12, 1873, comprised two and two-thirds square miles. The name was changed July 1, 1874 to Fort Cameron, in honor of Col. James Cameron, who fell July 21, 1861 at the Battle of Bull Run. The post was abandoned May 1, 1883 and the improvements sold to John R. Murdock and Phiilo T. Farnsworth. The Beaver Branch of the Brigham Young Academy (later Brigham Young University) was conducted there from 1898 to 1922.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments
  • Lee’s Ranch Indian Raid (UPTLA #68)
    Sponsor: Beaver Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1936
    Location: 1300 South Main
    Hostile Indians raided a small settlement in this vicinity October 27, 1866, centering their attack on the house where Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Lee, their two daughters and 8 year old son, a young Miss Hall and Joseph Lillywhite were barricaded. During the daylong battle, Lillywhite was seriously wounded. Lee killed three Indians, and the house was badly damaged, partly by firebrands. Miss Hall and the 8-year-old Lee son escaped and secretly journeyed by separate trails to Beaver to give the alarm. Militiamen were organized and sent to the rescue, but found the Indians had departed.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

Box Elder County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

WASHAKIE, UTAH

  • Sagwitch Timbimboo, Shoshone Chief (SUP #T)
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter, 1963
    Location: Old Washakie Townsite cemetery. North on I-15 to exit 392; left under freeway, then right (north) on frontage road to 24000 North. Then left (west) through settlement of Washakie to 8600 West 24000 North. Turn left only 50 feet, then right (west) about one-fourth mile to cemetery. Marker is in NW quadrant of cemetery, Indian section.
    GPS: N 41° 56′ 44.58″, W 112° 14′ 03.01″.

    Chief Sagwitch Timbimboo was born 1822 near the present site of Bear River City, Utah, and was baptized into the LDS Church August, 1875. He was one of the few survivors of the battle of the Bear River (also known as the Bear River Massacre) in January 1863. He was the grandfather of Moroni Timbimboo, who served as bishop of the LDS Washakie Ward 1939 to 1945. He died March 20, 1884.

BEAR RIVER CITY

  • James Bridger 1804 – 1881 (UPTLA #10)
    Sponsors: Bear River Chapter of Future Farmers of America and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1932
    Early western fur trapper, frontiersman, scout and guide. To settle a wager among the trappers who were making their first winter rendezvous in Cache Valley, Bridger floated alone in a bull boat down Bear River to its outlet to determine the river’s course in the late autumn or early winter of 1824, thus making the original discovery of Great Salt Lake. But believing he had discovered a salty arm of the Pacific Ocean, he halted en route at such view points as the site of this monument, to reconnoiter.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

BRIGHAM CITY, UTAH
The following 20 monuments are part of a bicycle/vehicle tour and are listed in touring sequence.

  1. Brigham City, a Co-op Town (SUP #74)
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter, 1995
    Location: Brigham Young Park, West Forest Street, Brigham City.

    Under the leadership of Elder Lorenzo Snow, Brigham City was the first important Mormon community to organize cooperative activity under the system of the United Order of 1874. Approximately 30–40 industry branches were established with the aim of producing and manufacturing what they consumed and used. The Co-op operated over 15 years from 1864–1880.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP PhotoSUP Monuments
  2. Davis Fort
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: 700 North 400 West Street, Brigham City.Soon after the first white families settled at Box Elder, a fort was built in 1851 to protect themselves from Shoshone Indian attacks. The fort, named after their leader, William Davis, consisted of a row of simple log cabins and was abandoned in the spring of 1852.
  3. Box Elder Fort (SUP #55)
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter, 1992
    Location: 280 North 200 West (behind Lincoln Center), Brigham City.In July 1853 Brigham Young ordered the people settled in the Brigham City vicinity to construct another fort to provide protection from the Indians. The Indian danger soon abated and a survey and a plat of the city was made in 1855 to allow settlers to move from the fort.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

  4. Union Pacific Depot
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: West Forest Street, near RR tracks, Brigham City.
    The depot, built in 1907, served thousands of train passengers, handled shipments of coal, locally grown produce, and mail. During World War II, a track was installed between the depot and Brigham City’s Bushnell Military Hospital for transporting wounded servicemen and medical supplies.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  5. Tithing Office
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: 64 South 100 West, Brigham City.
    Early Church members brought goods instead of cash to contribute one-tenth of their earnings as tithing. The Brigham City Tithing Office, built in 1877, had storage rooms for perishable goods and a rock wall around the acre yard for animals received as tithing.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  6. Brigham City Tabernacle (Box Elder Tabernacle) (SUP #21)
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter, 1988
    Location: 200 South Main Street, Brigham City.
    In 1865, Brigham Young directed Elder Lorenzo Snow to build a tabernacle for conferences in the Box Elder Stake on “Sagebrush Hill.” The cornerstone was laid on May 9, 1865, and President Wilford Woodruff dedicated the finished building in 1890. Later a fire gutted the tabernacle, and the reconstruction included elegant woodwork, a distinctive gothic-revival tower, and sixteen graceful pinnacles. The tabernacle was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1971.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  7. First Ward Meeting House
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: 311 South 100 East Street, Brigham City.
    Built in 1884-1886, the First Ward Meeting House is the oldest church still standing in Brigham City. It was made of stone, and a wooden recreation hall was later added to form a T with the main building.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  8. Brigham City Archway Sign
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: 50 South Main Street, Brigham City.

    The Brigham City Archway was built in 1928 at a cost of $2,400, most of which came from citizen donations. The finished sign measured 9 by 33 feet and was embellished with more than 350 electrical lights. The sign was replicated with newer materials in 1984.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  9. Box Elder Courthouse
    Sponsor:
    Box Elder Chapter
    Location: Main Street – Center of town

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  10. Old City Hall/Fire Station
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: Main Street at City Center, Brigham City.
    The first city hall was built in Brigham City in 1909. The building originally housed the fire department, city offices, a jail cell in the southeast corner and “hobo apartments” in the basement. It was remodeled in 1935 and served as city hall until 1974.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  11. Brigham City Co-op Store
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: The corner of Main & Forest Streets (Now Wells Fargo Bank), Brigham City.
    Built in 1890, the mercantile store was the last building constructed from the Brigham City Co-op. Three years after the store opened, a fire destroyed the business a year before the cooperative organization closed. First Security Bank bought the building on July 29, 1942

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments

  12. Box Elder Academy of Music and Dancing
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter, 1903
    Location: 62 North Main
    Built in 1903, the elegant two-story building had an upper floor for dancing and an open air pavilion on the ground floor. Brothers Christian and Peter Christensen ran the Academy and offered dance instruction and ballroom dancing. Three of Christians’s sons—William, Harold, and Lew—studied at the Academy and later became national figures in the ballet world.
  13. Grist Mill
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: 200 North 400 East, Brigham City.
    Built in 1856, this flour mill was the first industrial building in Brigham City. John H. Bott purchased the mill in 1890 for his stone cutting and monument company, which has continued as a family business through four generations of Botts.
  14. Relief Society Granary (SUP #148)
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: 100 North 400 East, Brigham City.
    In 1876, Brigham Young requested the women of the church to store grain to feed the poor and give aid to those in need. The women gleaned the grain from the fields after the men had harvested the wheat. Harriet S. Snow, Relief Society President in Brigham City began storing wheat in the upstairs room of her home until it became too much for her to handle. Harriet requested from her husband, Lorenzo Snow, that a granary be built, and it was constructed in 1877 at this location, known then as Co-op Square. Grain was sent to San Francisco after the 1906 fire, and sold to the US Government during WW I.
    In 2007-2008, the Box Elder Chapter, SUP, restored the old Relief Society Granary, and offered it as a museum for the community. It was re-dedicated on December 27, 2008.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW

    SUP Monuments

  15. Woolen Mill
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: 56 North 500 East Street, Brigham City.
    The Brigham City Co-op woolen mill was built in 1869, and by 1877 produced $42,000 worth of wool in 44 weeks. After the co-op closed, James Baron bought the mill, renamed it Baron Woolen Mills, and operated the mill until it was sold outside the family in 1988.
  16. Planing Mill
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: Forest Street and 600 East, Brigham City.
    James Pett built the planing mill in 1875 for the Brigham City Co-op and produced cabinetry, furniture and square nails. After the Co-op closed, John Finley Merrell bought the planing mill, and has been operated by four generations of the Merrell Family.
  17. Lorenzo Snow Burial Site (SUP #5)
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter, 1985
    Location: Brigham City Cemetery
    Lorenzo Snow joined the Church in June 1836. Captain of his wagon company, he crossed the plains and arrived in the Valley in 1848. He was called to preside over the colonization of Brigham City. He was ordained an apostle of the LDS Church in 1849, and later served as a councilor to Brigham Young. His service as President of the Church began in 1898 at age 84, and continued until his death on October 10, 1901.”
  18. Bushnell Hospital/Intermountain Indian School
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter
    Location: Entrance at 400 East 700 South Street, Brigham City.
    In 1942, Bushnell General Hospital was built in Brigham City to treat World War II wounded. The hospital closed in 1946 after 13,000 army personnel were treated. In 1950, the Bureau of Indian Affairs converted the Bushnell facility to a boarding school for Navajo children until its closure in 1984.
  19. Pioneer Care Center (SUP #25)
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter, 1989
    Location: 800 South 200 West, Brigham City.
    The Pioneer Care Center plaque commemorates the sacrifice, commitment, and charity of all the generations who have lived in Brigham City.
  20. Brigham Young’s Last Public Address (UPTLA #69)
    Sponsors: Brigham City Corporation, Wards, Civic Clubs, Patriotic Organizations in Box Elder Stake, including the Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, Aug. 19, 1937.
    Location: Brigham Young Park, West Forest
    Erected in honor of Brigham Young in commemoration of the outstanding service he rendered to the intermountain west, as patriot, pioneer, colonizer, Church leader and statesman. On this plot of ground Aug. 19, 1877, he delivered his last public address when he organized the Box Elder Stake.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument SUP Photo

COLLINSTON, UTAH

  • Hampton Ford Crossing (SUP #C)
    Sponsor: Golden Spike & Box Elder Chapters, 1957
    Location: Off highway 30 near junction of highway 38, 1.3 miles from Collinston, Utah.
    GPS: 41° 47′ 207″ N by 112° 06′ 340″ W.
    Approximately five miles downstream from the mouth of the canyon where the Bear River enters the Bear River Valley is located a ford where Indians, trappers, and early, explorers crossed the river. As routes became better established, more and more travelers crossed the Bear River ford and by 1853 Ben Hampton and William Godbe operated the ferry to aid in the crossings. Eventually traffic became too great for the ferry and in 1859 the first bridge over the Bear River was constructed. A hotel and other buildings were built near the crossing to accommodate travelers. In 1904 the rails reached Malad and traffic through the Hampton crossing declined. The station remains one of the best preserved of all stage stops in the Old West.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument

HONEYVILLE, UTAH

  • Call’s Fort (UPTLA #22)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and members and friends of the Call family, 1933
    Location: Highway 38 south of Honeyville, Utah
    This monument marks the S. E. corner of a fort built by Anson Call and associates in 1855 under direction of President Brigham Young, as protection against Indians. The fort was the most northerly outpost in Utah. It was 120 feet square, with walls 8 feet high and 3 feet thick, built of rock, part of which is in this monument. The circular stones were taken from one of the first burr flour mills built in northern Utah in 1852, owned by Omer and Homer Call. The three Call brothers were early pioneers and builders of Northern Utah.

MANTUA, UTAH

  • Logan to Brigham Pioneer Pony Express Mail Trail – #122
    Sponsor: Box Elder Chapter, 2006
    Location: Mantua town square
    Brigham Young officially called Samuel Alonzo Whitney Sr. to carry the mail from Cache Valley to Box Elder County. He was friendly with the Indians, spoke their language well and they recognized him from afar because one arm was missing. Therefore, he was able to travel the mail route alone without trouble. Sam is credited with carrying the very first mail from Logan to Brigham City.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Cache County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Temple Fork Sawmill (SUP #63)
    Sponsor: Temple Fork Chapter, 1993
    Location: Logan Canyon at Junction of Highway 89 and Temple Fork Road

    The Temple Fork Sawmill began operation in 1876 and ran until 1884. It produced more than 2.5 million board feet of lumber, some of which was used to construct the Logan Temple. It also produced 21,000 railroad ties, 90,000 laths, 2 million shingles, 50,000 pickets, broom handles, and charcoal.

    CLICK ON IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments SUP Monuments

HYRUM, UTAH

  • The Great Fur Cache (UPTLA #55)
    Sponsors: Boy Scouts and Explorer Scouts of Cache Valley Council, Boy Scouts of America and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1938
    Location: 30 West Center Street. Hyrum, Utah
    This monument was erected to commemorate an important episode in the early history of the west, and to honor the scouts and explorers of early days. In this vicinity in the winter of 1825-26, a cache containing 75 bales of furs, mostly beaver, with a value estimated at $150,000 was made by James Bridger, Jedidiah Strong Smith, William L. Sublette and others, who had come west with General W. H. Ashley. Later most of the furs were taken by pack train and water to fur markets at St. Louis.

LOGAN, UTAH

  • Birthplace of Pioneer Pilot Russell L. Maughan (SUP #32)
    Sponsor: Temple Fork Chapter, 1990
    Location: 133 East Center St., Logan
    Russell’s grandfather, Peter Maughan, crossed the plains with the Mormon exodus, and later founded the first settlement in Cache Valley, now Wellsville. Russell served as a fighter pilot in France in World War I and a colonel in the Eighth Air Force in Britain in World War II. He was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross and the Distinguished Flying Cross. On June 23, 1924 he became the first person to fly coast to coast in the United States in one day, from dawn to dark. This flight was from Miller Field in New York to Crissy Field in San Francisco.
  • Cache Valley (UPTLA #2)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and Logan City Welfare Committee 1931
    Location: 50 North Main, on the LDS Tabernacle Grounds.
    James Bridger led the first trappers to a winter encampment near here in 1824. Known to the Indians as Willow Valley, Cache Valley was renamed by fur trappers and traders in the winter of 1825 – 1826. Towards December 1825, William Sublette, in charge of Gen. William H. Ashley’s mountain men, ordered many of the season’s furs cached in this vicinity. Those interested in the furs, awaited General Ashley’s merchandise caravan of 1826. Similar caravans in subsequent years, involved William I. Sublette, James Bridger, Jedediah S. Smith, Thomas Fitzpatrick, Etienne Provost, Robert Campbell, James P. Beckworth, David E. Jackson, Louis Vasquez, Jean Baptiste Gervais, Moses Harris, and many others.
  • First Community Center (UPTLA #63)
    Sponsors: Explorer Scouts of the Logan Fifth Ward and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1935
    Location: 480 North 400 East, Logan, Utah
    The first community center of the Logan Fifth Ward was built thirty feet east of this spot during the winter of 1865-66, under the leadership of Bengt P. Woolfenstein. Consisting of but one room 16 by 20 feet, it served nevertheless as Church building, amusement hall and school house, William G. Cole being the first teacher. At that early date, eager for religious, social and educational growth, the Ward united upon the project — a humble symbol of the cooperative spirit of the Mormon Pioneer. Even boys of school age helped men with teams get the logs from Green Canyon. The original key has been made a part of this marker, affixed to a stone from the foundation of the old house.
  • First Settlers of Logan (UPTLA #9)
    Sponsor: Citizens of Logan, May 6, 1909 – the tablet was provided by Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1932
    Location: 50 North Main, on the LDS Tabernacle grounds.
    The first settlers of Logan encamped near this spot on the bank of the Little Logan River early in May 1859. Heads of families are listed on the tablet, in memory of these pioneers and others who followed during that year.
  • Logan Temple Marker (SUP #G-1)
    Sponsor: Temple Fork Chapter, 1984

PROVIDENCE, UTAH

  • Providence Pioneers (UPTLA #110)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1947, moved to a new free-standing monument by The Providence Pioneer Monument Inc. 2009
    Location: Main and Center Streets, Providence, Utah – near the street at the NW corner of the Old Rock Church Bldg.
    This marker honors the first settlers of Providence, who camped near here early in May 1859, and those who followed in the years 1860, 1861, and 1862. Included in the groups who pioneered this section were the following families: Alder, Bowen, Busenbark, Baer, Campbell, Clifford, Clark, Cranney, Dee, Durfey, Fuhriman, Flemming, Fife, Gates, Gassman, Greenback, Hafter, Hansen, Harmon, Hoth, Hug, Hall, Kresie, Lau, Low, Lane, Loosle, Maddison, Mathews, Naef, Nelson, Poulsen, Rammell, Rice, Stucki, Sperry, Sueifel, Theurer, Traber, VanLouevan, Williams, Wright, Zollinger.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument

SMITHFIELD, UTAH

  • Ira Merrill (SUP #M)
    Sponsor: Smithfield Chapter, 1958
    Location: Smithfield Park, next to Library on Main Street.
    Returning from the hills east of Smithfield with a load of brush, Ira Merrill was killed in 1860 by indians. Hostilities between the indians and the pioneers began near the site of this marker.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Davis County, Utah

BOUNTIFUL, UTAH

    • Original Gristmill Stones (SUP #31)
      Sponsor: South Davis Chapter, 1990
      Location: 905 South Orchard Drive. (Corner of Orchard Dr. and Mill St.)
      Under the leadership of Heber C. Kimball, the North Canyon Ward erected a flourmill that began operation in the fall of 1853. For a number of years, all baptisms in Bountiful took place in the mill pond excavated on the south side of the mill. During the excavation of a Davis County debris catch basin, the two original gristmill stones were uncovered — still in good condition. They are on display with this monument next to the Daughters of Utah Pioneers’ replica of the old mill.

      CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
      SUP Monument
    • Daniel Davis (SUP #45)
      Sponsor: South Davis Chapter, Bountiful Centennial Committee and Lloyd Davis Family, 1992
      Location: 905 South Orchard Drive, at the site of the original Gristmill.
      Daniel Davis was born in Massachusetts, and as a young man traveled to Nauvoo, where he was converted to the LDS Church, and adopted into the Heber C. Kimball family. When the Saints left Nauvoo, Heber C. Kimball assigned Davis to assist in building Winter Quarters, at Council Bluffs, Iowa. He reached Salt Lake Valley in 1848. Heber C. Kimball desired to erect a flour mill. Davis cleared the land, laid a cornerstone, and upon completion assumed management of the mill. The three-story mill was then the largest in Utah Territory.

 

    • George Quinn McNeil (SUP #46)
      Sponsor: South Davis Chapter, Bountiful Centennial Committee and Roy McNeil family, 1992
      Location: 905 South Orchard Drive, at the site of the original GristmillGeorge Quinn McNeil was born in Bountiful, Utah, and lived on the family farm on the southeast side of Bountiful City. He assisted Daniel Davis at the grist mill located on this site. McNeil captured bears in the mountains above Bountiful City, which were trained to do work around the mill and also taught to pull McNeil’s wagon.
    • Heber C. Kimball (SUP #44)
      Sponsor: South Davis Chapter, Bountiful Centennial Committee and the Heber C. Kimball family organization, 1992
      Location: 905 South Orchard Drive, at the site of the original Gristmill
      Heber C. Kimball was born in Vermont in 1801. He was converted to the LDS Church in 1832, and was called to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in 1835. He led the first missionary thrust to England during the 1830’s, which resulted in much Church growth. He arrived in the Salt Lake Valley with the first group of Mormon pioneers. In December 1847, he became Brigham Young’s first counselor in the First Presidency of the LDS Church. By 1849 he had become the first chief justice of the provisional State of Deseret, and the State’s lieutenant governor, and was involved in many important events in the Utah Territory and the Church. Kimball owned property and had family at this site. He felt a need for a flour mill in an area dominated by grain production, and decided to build here. Water to run the mill was stored in a pond that was excavated on its south side. Kimball died on June 22, 1868 in Salt Lake City.

 

    • Jeremiah Willey Cabin (SUP #110.3)
      Sponsor: South Davis Chapter, 2001
      Location: Seventh South and Main (Bountiful City Park)
      Jeremiah Willey migrated to Bountiful in 1851. He built this log cabin in 1854. Later it became home for his descendants and other families, and underwent several additions. A later owner built around the original cabin and expanded the size of the home. Later, the home was donated to the South Davis Hospital. As the structure was being torn down, the cabin walls were found behind lath and plaster. The only visible part of the cabin had been a painted log and mortar portion. In reality, the cabin had been encased in a time-capsule for the past half century. In 1992 Bountiful City moved the cabin to the city park, and the Bountiful area Daughters of Utah Pioneers provided the furnishings. In 1868 Jeremiah Willey was accidentally drowned while crossing Barton Creek by his home, and is buried next to his wife, Samantha Call, in the Salt Lake City Cemetery.

      CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEWSUP Monument

    • Marriott Ward (SUP #24)
      Sponsor: South Davis Chapter, 1989

 

CENTERVILLE, UTAH

  • Centerville Pioneer Monument (SUP #66)
    Sponsor: Centerville Chapter, 1994
    Location: 300 North Main (West side of Founder’s Park).This monument was dedicated to the faith, sacrifice, and deeds of the early settlers of Centerville. Their memory is revered with profound gratitude. Sculptured by Dee Jay Bawden, the monument is placed atop a five-foot base made of cement and faced with stone. In loving detail the monument depicts a pioneer family typical of the early pioneers of Centerville, whose suffering, diligence, and faith in the cause that brought them here made this a choice land. On the front of the base is a plaque, “Memorial to Centerville Pioneers,” giving some of the early history of Centerville. A second plaque on the back of the base entitled, “Our Heritage,” continues the early history of Centerville. On the sides of the base are plaques listing names of pioneers and others honored through contributions used to build the monument.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument
  • Grist Mill, Anson Call (SUP #93)
    Sponsor: Centerville Chapter, 2000
    Location: 610 East 100 North, Centerville (by flood control basin on Centerville Creek).
    GPS: N 40°; 54′ 58.4″ W 111° 52′ 8.5″
    In 1854, Anson Call of Bountiful erected a Grist Mill on the south side of Deuel Creek just southeast of this marker. The mill was a three-story building made from Centerville Canyon rock, with the machinery on the top floor. The miller kept a portion of the grain as his pay. The power to turn the grinding wheels was generated by water flowing down Deuel Creek, which ran from two holding ponds on the hillside above the mill and then to a water wheel that turned the drive shaft. The larger pond also served as a baptismal font, for swimming and winter ice production. The mill was demolished in 1944.

FARMINGTON, UTAH

  • Pioneer Village (SUP #P)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1961
    Location: Pioneer Village at Lagoon
    Original 1857 Pioneers, first location on Conner St.
  • Sons of Utah Pioneers Members, on 10-ton granite block (SUP #N)
    Sponsor: Temple Quarry, Chapter, 1959
    Location: Lagoon Pioneer Village
    In 1959 the Temple Quarry Chapter symbolically transported a 10-ton granite block to the old Pioneer Village—the same size stones moved by the pioneers to construct the Salt Lake Temple. The plaque on the block lists the Temple Quarry chapter members.

LAYTON, UTAH

  • Stage Coach Station (UPTLA #36)
    Sponsor: DUP and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: 128 South Main Street On this spot stood the Layton Stage Coach Station on the Utah-Idaho-Montana (Virginia City) Trail. It was established in 1857, by Ben Holladay, and carried mail and passengers between Salt Lake City and points north and west. Isaac Brown was the original keeper. Later it was operated by Wells Fargo Co. The Prairie House nearby was built by Christopher Layton in 1857, to accommodate stage coach passengers. When the railroad was built the stagecoach line was discontinued. The station was closed in 1870.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument

SOUTH WEBER

  • The Kington Fort (SUP #128)
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter and South Weber DUP, 2006
    Location: 475 East 6650 South, South Weber, Davis County, Utah, just off exit 85 of Interstate 84, near the Posse Grounds. GPS: N 41° 08.808´, W 111° 58.137´
    The Kington Fort, a 645 by 645 foot enclosure, was built on this site in 1853 to protect early settlers from Indian attacks. When no attacks occurred, the fort was deserted in 1858. In early 1862 the fort was occupied by Joseph Morris, an excommunicated member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, who had founded a church commonly known as The Morrisites. In a clash with local authorities, the army was called in. The ensuing battle resulted in the deaths of eleven persons, including Morris and his second-in-command, John Banks. Some followers scattered to other areas, and some were re-baptized into the LDS Church and remained in the South Weber area.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Garfield County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Civilian Conservation Corps Camp (CCC) FS-18 Blue Spring Ridge (SUP #99.1)
    Sponsor: Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter, 2001
    Location: Approximately 12-13 miles north of Escalante in Pine Canyon near Posey Lake, on the road to Hells Backbone.
    During the Great Depression, Congress passed a bill for the U.S. government to hire unemployed men for public works on state and federal lands. Better known by the initials CCC, Camp FS-18 operated during1933–34 and built a road from Blue Spring Ridge to Hell’s Backbone, down the mountain and through Salt Gulch into Boulder, linking the two towns. The remarkable Hell’s Backbone bridge stands today as one of the major accomplishments of Camp FS-18 of the Civilian Conservation Corps.
  • CCC Camp FS-42 The Spring (SUP #108)
    Sponsor: Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter, 2001
    Location: One mile east from Escalante, at “The Spring.”
    Camp FS-42 operated from 1935–41 and built the road via Calf Creek between Escalante and Boulder. Taking five years to complete and cutting through sandrock ledges 40 feet deep and 80 feet long, this road became known as the “million-dollar road to Boulder.”
  • CCC Camp FS-44 – Posey Lake (SUP #99.2)
    Sponsor: Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter, 2001
    Location: From Escalante, fourteen miles north in Pine Canyon, one mile south of Posey Lake, at “Aspen Grove.”
    Camp FS-44 operated from 1935–41 and built the road over the Boulder Mountain between Boulder and Bicknell. They also built the Blue Spruce and Posey Lake campgrounds including an amphitheater, fire pits, piped in water, picnic tables and latrine.
  • CCC Camp 211 – Main Canyon (SUP #109)
    Sponsor: Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter, 2001
    Location: Twelve miles west of Escalante at Water Canyon in Main Canyon
    This camp was also known as Widstoe Camp, due to its mailing address. It was in operation for only one year. It was staffed mostly by young men from the slums of New York City. The projects were mainly soil erosion prevention and flood control. A dam was begun, but finished by the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
  • Dance Hall Rock (SUP #0)
    Sponsor:
    Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1959
    Location: This monument is located in Kane County. Please refer to that location for more information.
  • Historical Event (SUP #141)
    Sponsor:
    Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter, 2006
    Location: About twelve miles NW of Escalante, beyond the Blue Spruce Campground.
    Near this spot on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, 1939, a young mother froze to death, sacrificing her life to save her four-month old infant daughter.
  • Hole-in-the-Rock Crossing (UPTLA #81 [moved by SUP])
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and SUP Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter.
    Location: This monument is located in Kane County. Please refer to that location for more information.
  • Sixty-five Mile Trail — Escalante to Hole-in-the-Rock
    Sponsor: Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter 2005
    Location: Southeast from Escalante, Utah.
    Mileage Markers – 4×4 posts with the back end of a covered wagon on each — are placed along this famous road to the Colorado River. The route was followed by the Mormon “San Juan Expedition” as they journeyed toward Bluff, San Juan County, Utah in 1879-80. The rough graveled road traverses a portion of the Grand Staircase – Escalante National Monument.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Iron County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • The Dominguez and Escalante Expedition (SUP #19)
    Sponsor: Refurbished by Cedar City SUP Chapter, 1988
    Location: 4.5 miles west of Cedar City on Hwy 56, on north side of highway.
    On July 29, 1776, Catholic Fathers Dominguez and Escalante led an exploration party of ten horsemen from Santa Fe, New Mexico to establish an overland route to Monterey, California. As the Padres traveled along the Beaver River in early October, they were unable to find a passage through the mountains. Their Indian guide had deserted them to return home. With supplies running low they realized that they were now at the mercy of winter storms. But some members of their party were reluctant to give up their hopes of reaching California. In order to restore unity they searched God’s will by casting lots, and the result was a decision to return to Santa Fe. Escalante was greatly impressed with the possibility of settlements in Cedar Valley. Although the explorers never reached California, they covered some 2,000 miles of challenging terrain, adding greatly to the knowledge of the geography of the American Southwest, the potential for settlement and the native inhabitants.
  • Old Irontown (UPTLA #60)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and Members of Parowan Stake, 1936.
    Location: Old Irontown State Park, twenty miles west of Cedar City on Highway 56.
    Established in 1868 by Ebenezer Hanks and other organizers of the Great Western Iron Manufacturing Co., a cooperative enterprise. Officers were Ebenezer Hanks, President, Homer Duncan, Vice President, Seth M. Blair, Secretary. A railroad was moved here from Nevada to haul coal from Cedar Canyon to “Little Pinto” the name given to this townsite. Eight hundred pounds of iron of good quality was produced each 8 hours, the plant running day and night. The enterprise was taken over in 1883 by the Iron Manufacturing Co. of Utah with George Q. Cannon, President, Thomas Taylor, Vice President and manager, John C. Cutler, secretary.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Image

CEDAR CITY, UTAH

  • Cedar Fort (SUP #60)
    Sponsor: Daughters of the Utah Pioneers. Monument rebuilt by SUP Cedar City Chapter, 1992
    Location: At the Old Iron Mission Fort, 1342 West Industrial Road, Cedar City, Utah.
    GPS: N 37° 41′ 17.02″ W 113° 05′ 05.30″
    in November 1851, thirty-five men from Parowan settled Cedar City. A unique temporary encampment composed of their wagon boxes and sagebrush walls sheltered them through the first winter. In 1853, a fort 100 rods square was built on this site. Its walls were three feet wide at the base, nine feet high, and one foot wide on top. It covered sixty-three acres. A City Plat of 120 lots was laid out inside the walls. This monument stands on the southwest corner of the fort, beside the John D. Lee gate. A large block of iron ore from the iron mines west of the city is located next to the monument.
  • Ellen Pucell Unthank (SUP #38)
    Sponsor: Cedar City Chapter, 1991
    Location: 400 West 200 South.
    Ellen (Nellie) Pucell was born November 6, 1846 in Tintwhistle, England. At 9 she, with her parents and sister Margaret (Maggie), 14, began the trek from Iowa to Salt Lake Valley in 1856 with the Edward Martin Handcart Company. Early snows overtook the company. Both Nellie’s parents died on the trail. Nellie’s feet were frozen. On arrival in Salt Lake Valley, she was strapped to a board. No anesthetics were available. Both her legs were amputated just below the knee with a butcher’s knife and carpenter’s saw. For the rest of her life she moved about on the painful stubs of her legs. At 24 in Cedar City she became the plural wife of William Unthank. She gave birth to 6 children. Her bishop and Relief Society occasionally brought food to her family. To even the score, once a year she and her children cleaned the meeting house throughout. Nellie died at 65 in Cedar City.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP photo
  • The Founders and Old Sorrel Statue
    Sponsor: Cedar City Chapter, 1986
    Location: 351 W. Center St.
    The first State Legislature following Utah’s statehood authorized a branch of the state’s teacher training school to be located in Cedar City. On January 5, 1898, a group left Cedar City for a saw mill 35 miles away to cut logs for the new building. The men worked in 40 degree-temperatures and their first attempt to return to Cedar City was engulfed by a record snow storm. An old Sorrel horse, placed out at the vanguard of the party, is credited with saving the expedition by walking into the drifts, pushing and straining against the snow, throwing himself into the drifts again and again until they gave way. He would pause for a rest, sitting down on his haunches the way a dog does, and then start again. It took two and a half days to get a load of logs down from the mountain tops to Cedar City.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • The Founders’ Rescue Wagon
    Sponsor: Southern Utah University and Cedar City Chapter, 1986
    Location: Near Sharwin Smith Student Center, SUU campus.
    The group of men intent on hauling out the lumber from Heber Jenson’s Saw Mill, had to abandon the lumber due to the heavy snow. Five men remained on the mountain to dig out the wagons while others returned to town for help. Digging through the drifts, the men worked their way home and arrived in Cedar City on January 11, with the first load of lumber. The Branch Normal School had been rescued. This recently restored original wagon was one of several used to haul logs from the forest to the saw mill.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • The Old Iron Foundry (UPTLA #30)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and the Chamber of Commerce of Cedar City, 1933
    Location: 250 North Main in Cedar City Park.
    The iron foundry, erected by direction of Brigham Young in 1851-2 one block north of this monument, produced the first iron manufactured west of the Mississippi River. Thirty-five men, the founders of Cedar City, constructed and operated the blast furnace. They established the first mining camp in Utah a few miles west of here, from which they procured the iron ore. The foundry was operated for 8 years at a cost of $1,000,000. Ore used in this monument was hauled here from the mines by pioneer workers. The pig iron bars in this structure were made by them.
  • The Old Mill (SUP #8)
    Sponsor: Cedar City Chapter, 1984
    Location: Mouth of Cedar Canyon, East Highway 14

    In 1876, the Cedar Co-op Mill was built as a large, three-story wooden building with grinding stones turned by water from Coal Creek. The mill ground flour, cereal, and livestock feed for much of Iron County. The mill changed to a plaster mill from 1934–1945.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

PARAGONAH, UTAH

  • Paragonah Fort (UPTLA #61)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and the People of Paragonah, 1936
    Location: In front of LDS Chapel.

    Paragonah City was founded in 1852. The site was selected and dedicated by President Brigham Young. Indian troubles caused its abandonment a year later until 1855, when the Pioneer Fort was built. The Fort was 105 feet square with walls 3 feet thick at the base. A second story was added in 1857. A large room served as Church, School and Amusement Hall. Homes were built around the inside of the wall. The Paragonah public square includes the site of the Fort, which was torn down in 1879.

PAROWAN, UTAH

  • John C. Fremont (SUP #X)
    Sponsor: Little Salt Lake Chapter, 1972
    Location: 100 South Main
    Seeking a suitable railroad route through the central Rockies, John C. Fremont and Company reached Parowan on February 6, 1854 barely alive. The Mormons took in the company and fed and nursed them back to health.
  • Parowan Cotton Factory
    Sponsor: Little Salt Lake Chapter
    On this site, in 1862 the first Cotton Factory was erected in the West; designed and operated by William Marsden and owned by Ebenizer Hanks. Here the first ball of Cotton Yarn was made west of the Mississippi River. The girls who worked in the Cotton Factory are listed.
  • Pioneer Sundial (UPTLA #62)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and the People of Parowan, 1936
    Location: 100 South Main Street.
    Parowan City was founded January 13, 1851 by settlers from northern communities under the leadership of George A. Smith. Among the early structures were a large Liberty Pole and a sundial. This marker designates the site of the community sundial placed here in 1852. The base of this structure is a burr from the pioneer grist mill. This sundial is a reproduction of the original made by the pioneers of Parowan. The Liberty Pole was one block south.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Juab County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

    • Dugway Station (UPTLA #89)
      Sponsors: Oregon Trail Memorial Association, Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, and constructed by the CCC, 1940
      Location: Approximately 10.5 miles southwest of the Riverbed Station (Tooele County).
      GPS: N 39° 51´ 28.7˝, W 113° 02´ 10.1˝A Pony Express Station 1860-61, and an Overland Stage & Freight Station 1858-1868. It was a halfway stop for the Stage between Fairfield and Ibapah. Water for the station had to be hauled from Simpson Springs, approximately 18.5 miles away.

      CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
      SUP Monumnet
    • Blackrock Station (UPTLA #90)
      Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
      Location: Approximately 14 miles west of the Dugway Station and 10 miles east of Fish Springs
      GPS: N 39° 52´ 40.9˝, W 113° 16´ 17.6˝
      Along a winding road across the Dugway Mountains, through the geode beds, is the marker for this Pony Express Station. The exact location has not been found. This site was without water and it had to be transported from Fish Springs.
CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
SUP Monumnet
  • Fish Springs (UPTLA #91)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
    Location: Approximately 10 miles west of Blackrock Station.
    GPS: N 39° 50´ 52.9˝, W 113° 24´ 39.0˝
    This was a Pony Express Station placed by J. H. Simpson along with another about four miles north at the Warm Springs site. The latter was apparently abandoned because of bad water. This is now a National Wildlife Refuge.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monumnet
  • Boyd Station (UPTLA #92)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
    Location: Approximately 14 miles west of Fish Springs.
    GPS: N 39° 50´ 37.5˝, W 113° 33´ 13.4˝
    This Pony Express Station, around the north end of the Fish Springs Range, was small, built of stone and contained gun ports. It is one of the best-preserved stations in Utah. The preservation is probably due to the fact that Bid Boyd, the stationmaster, stayed at the site well into the 1900’s.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monumnet
  • Willow Springs Pony Express Station (UPTLA #83)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
    Location: Western Juab County, at old townsite of Callao, seventeen miles east of Nevada border. GPS: N 39° 54′ 00″, W 113° 42′ 46.06″, elevation 4336 ft.
    The Willow Springs Home Station was established April 8, 1860. It is located at the Bagley Ranch on the western end of Callao. This station, because of its existing structures, is one of the most intresting and most frequently visited in Utah. The monument and the buildings are still in good condition. It is one of the best preserved stations in the U.S. and is the only existing home station maintained on private property. An overland stage station was operated here from 1859 to 1870.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monumnet

Kane County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Dance Hall Rock (SUP #0)
    Sponsor:
    Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1959
    Location: Approximately forty miles SE of Escalante, Utah, along the road to the “Hole in the Rock.”
    The San Juan Expedition to settle the Bluff area took a route stopping at various springs, about a day’s journey apart, from Escalante toward Hole-in-the-Rock. One of the most noted springs was Forty-mile Spring. About a mile and a half before reaching Forty-mile Spring and Camp, was a place called Dance Hall Rock. This huge sandstone formation is so constructed as to constitute a large amphitheater with a relatively smooth floor. Pioneers of the Forty-mile camp held dances at the “Hall” and thus gave it its name. With three fiddlers in the company to supply music, several pleasant evenings must have been spent in this way. (reproduced from the book “Hole In The Rock” by David E. Miller, U. of U. Press 1959, 1966.)

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Hole-in-the-Rock Arch (UPTLA #132)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association 1957The naming of this Arch honors the Historic Trek of the Mormon Pioneers called by Brigham Young to colonize San Juan County in 1879-1880. Also known as Window Rock Arch.
  • Hole-in-the-Rock Crossing (UPTLA #81 [moved by SUP])
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and SUP Hole-in-the-Rock Chapter.
    Location: 65 miles southeast by unimproved road from Escalante, Utah, or 28 miles southwest by boat from Bullfrog Marina.
    GPS: N. 37° 15′, 23.32″ W. 110° 54′ 01.71″ elevation 4332 ft.This monument was originally located at the edge of the Colorado River, but was moved to the top of the gorge by the SUP Hole in the Rock chapter when Lake Powell was created in 1963. Mormon Pioneers, from settlements in southern Utah to San Juan Valley in southeastern Utah, crossed the Colorado River at “Hole-in-the-Rock on January 16, 1880. During the winter of 1879-80 six weeks had been required to blast and construct the ¾ mile “road” down the cleft from the top of the gorge to the river. During construction, men were lowered in barrels to hand-drill and place powder charges. During the descent, with wagon wheels “ruff-locked” the hubs scratched deep scars in the rock walls. Eighty wagons plunged and skidded down the “impossible” cleft and ferried the river here. The ascent up the other side, over steep, slick rocks was equally difficult and hazardous, and the long trek over trackless desert to their new home was equally exhausting. A total of 250 men, women and children were in the party, and hundreds of horses and cattle. No wagons were lost and no one was seriously injured. This route from the Four Corners area of Utah, through the Hole-in-the-Rock, was used by early settlers for several years thereafter.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo SUP Photo
  • Johnson Canyon Cemetery (SUP #56)
    Sponsor: Red Rock Chapter, 1992
    Location: Thirteen miles east of Kanab
    The settlement of Johnson began in 1871 by four sons of Ezekiel and Julia Hills Johnson. From 1871–1918 the town grew with a school, post office and store. Eventually the last permanent residents moved to Kanab in the 1940s. This monument honors the earlier settlers buried at Johnso

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Pioneer Trail: Dixie-Long Valley, Utah (SUP #118)
    Location: On Hurricane Hill, Highway 59 at Hurricane trailhead
    Segments of the old Indian trails between St. George and Long Valley were used by Mormon pioneers to settle Long Valley in 1864 and again in 1871 following Indian conflicts. The desert trail, about 85 miles long, traversed deep sand, sandstone ledges and lava faults and was the primary transportation route, including mail and heavy freight, for half a century. It took four days for loaded wagons drawn by horse or ox teams to travel the distance.
  • Pioneer Trail: Dixie-Long Valley, Utah (SUP #119)
    Location: On the Arizona Strip at Cane Beds intersection of Highway 389 and Mohave County
    Road 237

    The trail divided the area of this marker; the Elephant Trail took a northeasterly route while the alternate Cottonwood Canyon-Sand Ridge Trail went more easterly before joining the Elephant Trail after it descended into Parunuweap Canyon/Long Valley.
  • Pioneer Trail: Dixie-Long Valley, Utah (SUP #120)
    Location: Highway 89,.25 miles south of the Mt. Carmel, junction in Kane County, Utah
    The trail divided east of present-day Colorado City, Arizona; the Elephant Trail took a northeasterly route while the alternate Cottonwood Canyon-Sand Ridge trail went more easterly before joining the Elephant Trail after descending into Parunuweap Canyon/Long Valley.

KANAB, UTAH

  • Fort Kanab (UPTLA #115)
    Sponsor: Descendants of Levi Stewart and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1950
    Location: 100 North and 300 West, Kanab, Utah, Levi Stewart Memorial Park
    Levi Stewart had been called from Salt Lake County by President Brigham Young to head a group of pioneers in settling this area. On June 14, 1870 he arrived with a party in seven wagons in Fort Kanab, which had been built a year before by Jacob Hamblin and Indian missionaries. The Kanab Ward was organized September 11, 1878, with Elder Stewart as Bishop. Other settlers arrived, homes were built and plans made for a permanent community. A fire in the Fort on December 14, took the lives of Mrs. Margery Wilkerson Stewart and five sons.
  • Jacob Hamblin (UPTLA #21) (Plaque)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and the Citizens of Kanab Stake, 1933
    Location: 100 North and 300 West, Levi Stewart Memorial Park.
    This great Mormon Pioneer Frontiersman and missionary was born April 2, 1819 and died August 21, 1886. He settled in Tooele Valley, Utah in 1850 and began peaceful negotiations with the Red Men. He was so successful that the officials of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints sent him to establish residence among the Indians at Santa Clara, Utah in 1854. A fort was erected on this site in 1865 into which he moved in 1869. He assisted Maj. J. W. Powell and party 1869-72. He was transferred in 1878 to Arizona, and later to New Mexico. He is buried at Alpine, Arizona. His friendship with the Indians saved many lives.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Morgan County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • East Canyon Campsites (SUP #83)
    Sponsor: Twin Peaks Chapter & Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 1998
    Location: East Canyon, Utah next to East Canyon Resort office
  • Little Emigration Canyon (SUP #67)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1994
    Location: Between East Canyon and Mtn. Dell Canyon
  • Mormon Flats (SUP #h-1)
    Sponsor: Beehive/East Mill Creek Chapters, 1984

MORGAN, UTAH

  • Early Morgan County Settlers (SUP #142)
    Sponsor: Morgan Chapter, 2009
    Location: 33 North State St. DUP Museum Building
    This marker is dedicated to all the Early Morgan County Settlers who endured considerable hardships and a harsh climate to build this community.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

RICHVILLE, UTAH

  • Richville Pioneer Cemetery (SUP #118.1)
    Sponsor: Morgan Chapter 2005
    Location: From Morgan, Utah, go south on Morgan Valley Drive to highway 95 and left. It is about 5 miles from Morgan to Richville.
    This monument was erected to remember those buried in unmarked graves.This is the final resting place for early residents who settled in Richville, Morgan County, Utah, and at least one Native American. Of seventeen unmarked graves, there are ten known names listed.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Rich County, Utah

LAKETOWN, UTAH

  • Fur Traders Rendezvous (UPTLA #74)
    Sponsor: Troop 63, Tendoy Council BSA, Citizens of Laketown and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1937
    Location: Three and one-half miles west of Laketown, on Bear Lake.
    The Rocky Mountain Fur Company, headed by Milton G. Sublette, David E. Jackson and Jedediah S. Smith, conducted a fur trading rendezvous in this vicinity in June and July, 1827, taking 130 bales of beaver furs for shipment to St. Louis by pack train. Sublette had left St. Louis in March with 60 men and merchandise, arriving via South Pass in late June. The trading was concluded and all parties dispersed in mid-July 1827, following the return of Smith from a perilous journey to California. Traders were also here in 1826. Large bands of Indians frequently gathered here.

Salt Lake County, Utah

CLICK ON A LOCATION BELOW TO SKIP TO THAT SECTION -

Rural Locations, Draper, Herriman, Holladay, Magna, Murray, Parley’s Hollow, Riverton, Salt Lake City, Sandy, SUP Headquarters, Taylorsville, Utah State Capitol, West Jordan, West Valley City

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Big Mountain (UPTLA #24, SUP #3)
    Sponsor: South Davis Chapter, 1984
    Location: Pass at summit of little Emigration Canyon
    On July 19, 1847, scouts Orson Pratt and John Brown climbed Big Mountain and became the first Latter-day Saints to see the Salt Lake Valley. Due to illness, the pioneer camp had divided into three small companies. On July 23, the last party led by Brigham Young reached Big Mountain, but by this time most of the first companies were already in the valley and planting crops. The ill-fated Donner Party blazed the original trail one year earlier.
  • Birch Springs (SUP #K4)
    Sponsor: Sugar House Chapter, 1984
  • Bingham Settlement (UPTLA # 114)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1948
    Location: This marker was moved from its original location in the city of Bingham and is now located at the Kennecott Copper Pit Visitor’s Center

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Camp Grant (SUP #6)
    Sponsor: Holladay & Potomac Chapters, 1985
    Location: Utah Highway 65, beyond top end of Mountain Dell Reservoir
    Dedicated to the Donner-Reed party—the first wagon train to cross the Wasatch Range from Henefer to the Salt Lake Valley in 1846—and to the Mormon Pioneers that followed. The “Gold Rush 49-ers,” the Overland Stage, Johnston’s Army, the Pony Express and thousands of emigrants traveled this route.
  • Camp Kostopulous (SUP #82)
    Sponsor: Mills Chapter, 1996
    Location: 2500 E Emigration Canyon
  • Jordan Narrows (UPTLA #39)
    Sponsor: Utah National Guard and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: In Camp Williams, on Utah Avenue at the Officers’ Club.
    The “Jordan Narrows” is the “gateway” to Central Utah and on to California. The Narrows were formed by wave-action on the leeward arm of ancient Lake Bonneville. The route of the first settlers in central and southern Utah; of the government mail line to San Diego, 1854 to 1857; of the Overland Mail and Stage Line to San Francisco, 1858 to 1868; of the Pony Express Line, 1860 to 1861; and of the first transcontinental telegraph line, 1861 to 1868. Control and way stations on the overland stage and Pony Express route were about ten miles apart, many in view from this monument, were: Salt Lake City, Travelers Rest, Rockwell’s, Joes Dugout and Fort Crittenden (originally named Camp Floyd). A celebrated Ute Indian Chief named Tintic led an attack on the early settlers of Lehi, between this monument and Utah Lake in February 1854, killing several men.
  • Little Mountain Summit (SUP #51)
    Sponsor: Twin Peaks Chapter & Pioneer Trails State Park, 1992
    This is the last summit in the Wasatch Mountains along the Pioneer Trail where the Donner Party passed on August 21, 1846 and the Mormons on July 21, 1847.
  • Memories at Mountain Dell (SUP #110.1)
    Sponsor: Mills Chapter, 2001
    Location: Mountain Dell Canyon, Utah, parking lot
    The natural gorge which rests south of Big Mountain and the northwest slopes of Little Mountain was named Mountain Dell by Ephraim Hanks.
    In 1870, Francis Armstrong purchased the property at Mountain Dell, where it was used by the family as a summer farm. A farmhouse was built in 1882 that remained standing until July 1999.

BRIGHTON, UTAH

  • First Statewide Pioneer Day Celebration (UPTLA #14)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and Cottonwood Stake, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 1932
    Location: Brighton, Utah, at the top of Big Cottonwood Canyon at Silver Lake.

    This celebration was held in this mountain basin July 23-24, 1857. Headed by Brigham Young, the Company reaching here July 23rd numbered 2,587 persons, with 464 carriages & wagons, 1028 horses & mules and 332 oxen and cows. A program of addresses, six brass bands, singing, athletic events, drills by six companies of Militia, and dancing, was punctuated by salutes from a brass Howitzer. U.S. flags were flown from two highest peaks and two highest trees, the flag-tree in front of Brigham Young’s campsite being 70 feet northwest of here. At noon July 24, Judson Stoddard and A. O. Smoot, just arrived in the Valley, with Elias Smith and O. P. Rockwell, arrived with news of the advance of Johnston’s Army against the “Mormons”. The Company returned to their homes on July 25th.

DRAPER, UTAH

  • Rockwell Station (UPTLA #48)
    Sponsor: Adult Aaronic Priesthood Group of East Jordan Stake and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934. Later refurbished by SUP Temple Quarry Chapter.
    Location: West of the Bluffdale Park and Ride, 14600 South and I-15
    GPS: N 40° 29.162′, W 111° 54.023′
    The west-bound Pony Express riders proceeded south along today’s State Street to the next station south of the Utah State Prison. This was at Orrin Porter Rockwell’s Hot Springs Brewery Hotel—a popular stopping point for travelers. Rockwell kept the station on the Pony Express route from 1858–1868. A stone monument was constructed from stone from the old station and can be found at the south-east corner of the prison compound.

HERRIMAN, UTAH

  • Fort Herriman (UPTLA #32)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, Daughters of Utah Pioneers, West Jordan District B.S.A., Members of West Jordan Stake and former residents, 1933.
    Location: 12550 South 6000 West in Herriman, Utah.

    This monument marks the site of Fort Herriman built in 1855 by Thomas Butterfield, Henry Herriman, Samuel Egbert, Robert Petty and John Stocking, as protection against the Indians. The fort was abandoned in 1858, under instructions from Brigham Young, upon the approach of Johnston’s Army. Some of the settlers returned a few years later and established the town of Herriman. The fort was named for Henry Herriman; Nearby Butterfield Canyon was named for Thomas Butterfield, pioneers of this area.

HOLLADAY, UTAH

  • 1st Settlers in Holladay (SUP #65)
    Sponsor: Holladay Chapter, 1994
    Location: 4782 Holladay Blvd.
    This monument and plaque shows the original survey in 1849 with the names of the first settlers, and the leader of the settlers, John D. Holladay, as branch president.
  • Old Fort Site (SUP #B-1)
    Sponsor: Holladay Chapter, 1975
    Location: Olympus Jr. High, 2217 East 4800 South.

    During the Walker Indian War in 1853, 161 settlers on Big Cottonwood Creek built a fort at this location. The fort enclosed four acres, but was not needed as the indians proved to be friendly.

MAGNA, UTAH

  • Early Magna Settlements (SUP #28)
    Sponsor: Oquirrh Mountain Chapter, 1993
    Location: Northeast of 4100 S. and 8400 W.
    Abraham Coon came to this area in 1853 and built a sawmill and tan-bark processing plant in the Oquirrh Mountains, later named Coon’s Canyon. At the mouth of the canyon his family started the farming community of Coonville—the first settlement on the west side of the valley. By 1860 more settlers arrived and established Pleasant Green. With the advent of the Utah Copper company in 1906, Coonville and Pleasant Green merged into the community of Magna.

MURRAY, UTAH

  • Mahonri Moriancumer Cahoon (SUP #84)
    Sponsor: Pioneer Heritage Chapter, 1998
    Location: Murray City Cemetery, 5600 S. 900 E.
    When Cahoon was born in 1834, his father, Reynolds Cahoon, asked Joseph Smith to give his newborn a name and a blessing. Smith gave him the name Mahonri Moriancumer Cahoon, explaining that although the name was not mentioned in the Book of Mormon’s book of Ether, it had just been revealed to him that Mahonri Moriancumer was the name of the brother of Jared. The Cahoon family came to Utah with the pioneers and eventually settled in the Murray area. The original wooden marker, which had deteriorated, was replaced with a permanent headstone.
  • Mt. Olympus Senior Center Flag Pole (SUP #89)
    Sponsor: Mills Chapter, 1998
    Location: Murray, Utah
  • Murray Mill (SUP #70)
    Sponsor: Oquirrh Mountain Chapter, 1994
  • Religious & Education Instruction
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1931
    Location: 225 Gordon Lane at 250 East, GPS: N 40ºº 40 ´ 37.7 seconds, W 111ºº 53 ´ 03.8 seconds.
    The Inscription reads: To commemorate the first building in the Valley outside of Salt Lake City which was erected for the purpose of religious & education instruction.
  • South Cottonwood Campground (Half-way Camp) (SUP #33)
    Sponsor: Murray Chapter, 1990
    Location: 5600 S. & Vine Street
    During the building of the Salt Lake Temple, when granite stones were being hauled by team and wagon the 20 miles from the Little Cottonwood Canyon quarry to the temple site, a stopover camp used by the drivers was established at South Cottonwood. This site was approximately halfway between the quarry and the temple grounds. In 1870 a rock granary was built and still remains standing today as a historical landmark.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument

RIVERTON, UTAH

    • Early Riverton and the Magnificent Dome Church (SUP #7 & 7a)
      Sponsor: Jordan River Temple Chapter, 1984
      Location: Riverton Park
      GPS: N 40 degrees 31 minutes 10.62 seconds, W 111 degrees 56 minutes, 072 seconds, elev. 4489 ft.
      In 1855, Abraham Hunsaker, a member of the Mormon Battalion, moved his herds across the river and became the first man to own land and divert water in Riverton. Archibald Gardner, however, was the first to live here and became the largest land owner.
      The first ward organized on August 8, 1886, began construction of a magnificent domed church in 1899, with Richard W. Kletting as the architect (also the architect for the Utah State Capitol and the old Saltair Pavilion). Because of its high ceilings, excessive maintenance and heating problems, it was razed in 1940, after 30 years of use.

 

    • The Tithing Yard (SUP #110.2)
      Sponsor: Mills Chapter, 2003
      Location: 1150 W. 12400 S.
      GPS: N 40 degrees 31 minutes 32.58 seconds, W 111 degrees 55 minutes 30.90 seconds, elev. 4433 ft.
      In 1886 a “tithing yard” was established in Riverton where faithful Mormon Church members brought their tithing increase in produce, livestock, poultry, grains, and other farm products. On the bench ground there was an office building, weigh scales, a small granary, a large root cellar, haystacks, feed mangers, and a barn. It discontinued operation in 1913.

 

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH

  • Anderson Tower (SUP #53)
    Sponsor: Canyon Rim Chapter, 1993
    Location: 6th Avenue & A Street Anderson Tower was built in 1884 by Robert R. Anderson, one of the original settlers on the north bench of Salt Lake City. The circular three-story structure had a winding stairway that led to an observation deck equipped with a telescope. People were charged a small fee to climb to the top for the view. Although the venture proved unsuccessful, the tower stood for forty-eight years until razed in November, 1932.
  • Bee-Hive House (UPTLA #50)
    Sponsors: Young Men’s and Young Women’s Mutual Improvement Associations and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1935
    Location: 67 East South Temple Street.
    Erected about 1852 by President Brigham Young as the Official Residence of the President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and occupied by him from the time it was completed until his death in 1877. From 1852 to 1855 it also served as the Executive Mansion of Governor Brigham Young of the Territory of Utah. It was also the home of presidents Lorenzo Snow(1898 – 1901) and Joseph F. Smith (1901 – 1918), both of whom died here. The Beehive is the State Emblem signifying industry.
  • Brigham Young Grave (UPTLA #78)
    Sponsors: The Young Men’s and Young Women’s Mutual Improvement Associations and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1938
    Location: 150 East First Avenue
    Prophet – Pioneer – Statesman. Born June 1, 1801, at Whitingham, Vermont. Died August 29, 1877, at Salt Lake City, Utah. Brigham Young, second President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, succeeded Joseph Smith, founder of the Church, who was martyred at Carthage, Illinois. He was chosen as leader of the people in 1844 and sustained as President of the Church December 27, 1847. Earlier in 1847 he led the Mormon Pioneers from Winter Quarters (Omaha, Nebraska) to the Salt Lake Valley, arriving here July 24. In 1849 he became Governor of the Provisional State of Deseret, and in 1850 Governor of the Territory of Utah.
  • Brigham Young Grave Statue (UPTLA #Z)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1974
    Location: 1st Avenue between State & A StreetOn June 1, 1974, an eight-foot bronze statue was unveiled at the small Brigham Young Cemetery on 1st Avenue. Sculpted by Edward J. Fraughton, the monument depicts a pioneer father, mother and daughter in an embrace.
  • Brigham Young Industrial Center and Golden Pass Road (SUP #43)
    Sponsor: Pioneer Heritage Chapter, 1992
    Location: 2000 E. Stratford Avenue (2585 S.)The largest gristmill for grinding wheat in the Utah Territory operated from 1852–1857,
    when it was shut down because of the arrival of Johnston’s army. The mill reopened later
    as a cotton mill and then woolen mill.Parley P. Pratt’s Golden Pass Road provided not only a safer alternative entrance to the
    Salt Lake Valley but provided a route for hauling fuel and timber down to the valley.
    Between 1850–1869 thousands of Mormon pioneers, California-bound gold seekers,
    Pony Express riders, Overland Stage coaches and thousands of soldiers traveled the dirt
    road.
  • Brigham Young’s Office (UPTLA #52)
    Sponsor: Young Men’s and Young Women’s Mutual Improvement Associations and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1935
    Location: 67 East South Temple Street.Erected about 1852 and, used as the executive office of the Territory of Utah until 1855. It also served as the headquarters of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from the time it was finished until 1917, when the new Church Office Building was completed. For a short time it was also the Church Tithing Office. Presidents of the Church who occupied this office were Brigham Young, 1852 – 1877; John Taylor, 1877 – 1887; Wilford Woodruff, 1887 – 1898; Lorenzo Snow, 1898 – 1901; Joseph F. Smith, 1901 – 1917.
  • Carlisle Family Historical Marker (SUP #98)
    Sponsor: Beehive Chapter, 2002
    Location: 3900 S. 1400 W.The three Carlisle brothers settled in this area between 700 West and the Jordan River.
    Their endeavors included farming, dairying, and planting mulberry trees to raise silk
    worms. They developed a gravel pit on the west side of the river. The Carlisle School was
    built on their property and served students in the area from 1905 to 1923.
  • Donner Trail 1846 (UPTLA #7)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1931
    Location: Utah State Fairgrounds 900 West North Temple Street.The Donner Party, led by George and Jacob Donner and James F. Reed, passed here and crossed the nearby Jordan River about September 2, 1846. This party, consisting of 81 persons –35 of them children — was delayed 2 weeks building a road via Emigration Canyon. While crossing the Great Salt Lake Desert, they lost some wagons and many animals. As a result of this misfortune and the delays en route, the party became snowbound in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, where many of them perished that winter.
  • Emigration Canyon Railroad (SUP #29)
    Sponsor: Canyon Rim Chapter, 1990
    Location: Hogle Zoo Entrance

    One of the major sources of stone building materials needed by the people of Salt Lake
    City was in Emigration Canyon, east of the city. An electric railway to the canyon was
    built in 1909 to provide a ready source of limestone, gravel, red sandstone and white
    sandstone. Soon passenger trips were in demand and weekend trips into the canyon
    became popular. By 1916 the service was terminated and the rails, ties, spikes, and
    rolling equipment were turned into materials to aid in the World War I effort.
  • Ensign Peak (UPTLA #43)
    Sponsor: Ensign Stake Mutual Improvement Associations and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: 100 East 1000 North Street – Ensign Vista Dr. — Salt Lake City.July 26, 1847, two days after the Mormon Pioneers entered this valley, Brigham Young and party climbed to this point and with the aid of field glasses made a careful survey of the mountains, canyons and streams. In the group were Heber C. Kimball, Wilford Woodruff, George A. Smith, Ezra T. Benson, Willard Richards, Albert Carrington and William Clayton. Wilford Woodruff, first to ascend the Peak, suggested it as a fitting place to “set up an Ensign” (Isaiah 11:12). It was then named Ensign Peak. Subsequently the Stars and Stripes were raised here.
  • First Company of Mormon Pioneers
    Sponsor: Twin Peaks Chapter, 1987
    Location: Pioneer State Park, 2601 Sunnyside AvenueThis monument lists the names of the members of the first company of pioneers to enter
    the valley.
  • Gardener’s Sawmill (UPTLA #57)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, The Gardner Family and the Priesthood of Wilford Ward, 1935
    Location: 3550 South Highland Drive.Gardner’s Saw Mill was erected by Robert Gardner and his sons Archibald, Robert and William on Warm Springs Stream, in Salt Lake City October 1847. The Mill was moved to this new site in 1848, producing the first commercial lumber in Utah, using the first formal grant of water for industrial use. Later a flour mill was erected a few rods upstream. These plants gave the name Mill Creek to the stream and canyon. Gardner’s Fort, domicile of the Gardner families, was located a short distance northeast. The Gardners had received the first permit to leave the pioneer fort.
  • Great Salt Lake Base and Meridian (UPTLA #12)
    Sponsors: Mutual Improvement Association of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1932
    Location: Northwest corner of Main and South Temple Streets, at the northeast corner of Temple Square.
    GPS: 40° 46′ 04″ – Longitude 111° 54′ 00″ Elivation 4327.27 feet.This geographic location was fixed by Orson Pratt assisted by Henry G. Sherwood on August 3, 1847, when beginning the original survey of “Great Salt Lake City.” The Temple Site near here had been designated by Brigham Young July 28, 1847. The City streets were named and numbered from this point. David H. Burr, first U.S. Surveyor-General for Utah, in August 1855, located here the initial point of public land surveys in Utah, and set the stone monument, still preserved in position. An astronomical station, its stone base still standing 100 ft. N. and 50 ft. W. of this corner was established by George W. Dean, U. S. C. & G. Survey, on September 30, 1869. This was used to determine the true latitude and longitude, and was used to obtain correct time at this point until December 30, 1897.
  • Heber C. Kimball Grist Mill (SUP #J)
    Sponsor: East Mill Creek Chapter, 1957
  • Jordan/Salt Lake Canal (SUP #39)
    Sponsor: Canyon Rim Chapter, 1991
    Location: Sugarhouse Plaza
  • “Leaning into the Light,” Joseph Smith, the Boy
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1997
    Location: Joseph Smith Memorial Building
  • Legacy of Black Pioneers (SUP #16)
    Sponsor: Beehive Chapter, 1987
    Location: Evergreen Park, 2230 East Evergreen Avenue (3435 S.)
  • The Lion House (UPTLA #51)
    Sponsors: Young Men’’s and Young Women’’s Mutual Improvement Associations and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1935
    Location: 63 East South Temple, SLCBuilt by President Brigham Young and used by him as a residence from about 1855 until his death in 1877. On the lower floor were the dining room and kitchens. On the next floor were the living rooms and large parlor; and on the top floor were the bedrooms. It was in this house that President Young died. Later the building was used for school purposes and as a social center for women and girls. The lion is a replica of one that occupied a similar position on a prominent home in Vermont, the State where President Young was born and spent his youth.
  • Old Brickyard Chimney (SUP #54)
    Sponsor: Beehive Chapter, 1994
    Location: 3300 S. 1300 E.
  • Old Folk’s Day (UPTLA #65)
    Sponsors: Old Folks Committees, Cambrian Society of Salt Lake City, Inc., Covered Wagon Days, Inc., and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
    Location: Northwest corner of Main and South Temple streets.

    “Honor thy Father and Thy Mother.” Old Folks Day was inaugurated in Salt Lake City in 1875, by Charles R. Savage, assisted by Edward Hunter, Presiding Bishop of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and George Goddard. All persons seventy or more years of age have been honored at annual celebrations in many communities in Utah.
  • Pioneer Flour Mill Site (UPTLA #64, SUP #K, SUP #138)
    Sponsors: Descendants of John Neff Sr., East Mill Creek Betterment League and the Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1936. Rebuilt by SUP Mills Chapter, 2007
    Location: 2700 East & Evergreen Ave. (3435 South) SLC
    GPS: N 40° 41′ 47.9″, W 111° 48′ 55.0″445 feet west of this monument is the site of the Pioneer Flour Mill erected in the spring of 1848 by John Neff, 1847 Pioneer. The burrs were bought by him at Winter Quarters from Brigham Young at whose request they were brought to Utah. The granite block in the monument is part of one of the mill stones. The mill began operations in March,1848, and was the first in the valley to produce refined flour. The builder, noted for his humanitarianism, refused $1.00 a pound for flour, from emigrants to California, selling it to the needy poor at 6 cents a pound and frequently giving it to those unable to buy.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument
  • Pioneer Telegraph Office (SUP #D)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1955
    Location: Main Street & 1st SouthThe famed sculptor Ortho Fairbanks in 1955 created this marker located at the spot
    where the transcontinental telegraph lines were connected October 18, 1861.During the Downtown Salt Lake City renovations in 2007, this marker was placed in temporary storage.
  • Private School House (UPTLA #35)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: Northeast corner of South Temple and State Streets.Built by Brigham Young for his own children, the school house stood on this corner lot from 1860 to1903. This early school was directed by Eli B. Kelsey, who in soliciting additional students, announced in the Deseret News December 12, 1860, as follows: “President Young not only intends it to be used for the education of own family during the day, but purposes it to be thoroughly devoted to further educational purposes in the evenings, including the teaching of vocal music. Mr. David O. Calder will open therein two classes for young persons of both sexes, in order that a competent number may be thoroughly taught this simple and beautiful science, so that a uniform system of teaching may be adopted throughout all the schools of the territory. The produce of the valley will be taken in payment for tuition.”
  • Sisters of the Holy Cross (UPTLA #18)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and the Catholic People of Utah, 1932
    Location: 1075 East 100 South Street.In June 1875, in answer to the appeal of the Rev. Lawrence Scanlan, two Sisters of the Holy Cross, Mother M. Augusta and Sister M. Raymond, came to Salt Lake City. In August they were joined by Sisters M. Pauline, Anna, Josepha, Holy Innocents, and Petronella, and in September they opened St. Mary’s Academy at 152 South First West Street. In October of the same year Sisters M. Holy Cross, Bartholomew, and Bernard opened Holy Cross Hospital at 50 South Fifth East Street. The Hospital was established on the present site in 1882. The College and Academy of St. Mary-of-the-Wasatch and Holy Cross Hospital stand today as monuments to mark the trail of these pioneer sisters.
  • Social Hall (UPTLA #20)
    Sponsor: The Young Men’s and Young Ladies’ Mutual Improvement Associations and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1933
    Location: 51 South State Street – Social Hall Ave.Dedicated January 1, 1853, this monument marks the site of the Social Hall, the first recreation center in the intermountain west. It was built by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints under the direction of Brigham Young. Made of plastered adobe walls with native wood floors and roof. Auditorium 40 by 60 feet, seating 350 persons. Stage 20 by 40 feet. Dressing rooms and banquet hall were in the basement. Here the Deseret Dramatic Association conducted many home talent theatricals, musicals and other festivities. Sessions of the Legislature, official meetings, receptions, banquets, and other social functions were held here. It was used as theatre, library and gymnasium by the Mutual Improvement Associations. In 1922 the building was razed.
  • Sugarhouse Industrial Center (SUP #S-1)
    Sponsor: Sugar House Chapter, 1992
    Location: Sugarhouse
  • Utah Penitentiary (SUP #17)
    Sponsors: Sugar House Chapter, Sons of Utah Pioneers, Daughters of Utah Pioneers, Sugar House Community Council, Utah Peace Officers Associations, & The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 1988
    Location: Sugarhouse ParkThe first buildings of the Utah Penitentiary, surrounded by a 12-foot wall, were occupied
    in January 1855—6 safe miles from the center of the city. The first warden, Albert Perry
    Rockwood, reported that escapes were frequent because of poor facilities and lack of
    guards. By 1882, the prison included 244 steel cells, a 250 capacity chapel and a new 19-
    foot wall enclosing two acres. After World War II the growth of the city to the south and
    east made it imperative to construct the prison facility in a more isolated area, at the
    Point of the Mountain (1951).
  • Wilford Woodruff’’s Farm 1850 (SUP #137)
    Sponsor: Holladay Chapter, 2008
    Location: 1604 South 500 East, Salt Lake cityWilford Woodruff’’s Farm was 20 acres located between Kensington Ave. (about 1500 South) and 1700 South and from 300 East to 500 East. This rich farmland was irrigated with water from Parleys Creek and Emigration Creek. Wilford Woodruff farmed here for over 45 years, providing for his family. He also grew numerous experimental crops. His journal makes reference to wheat, potatoes, cotton, sugar cane, melons, currants, madden, indigo, strawberries, apples, grapes, and “bushels of crickets”. He was one of the first pioneer settlers of the Salt Lake Valley and was the fourth President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo SUP Photo

PARLEY’S HOLLOW

(From Tanner Park, 2700 East 2700 South, Salt Lake City).

This historic area on Parleys Creek, at the mouth of Parleys Canyon was very significant to the earliest pioneer immigrants and settlers of the Valley.

  • Dudlers Inn (SUP #75)
    Sponsor: Canyon Rim Chapter, 1996
    Location: 2700 E. 2700 S., south of Interstate 80 near the mouth of Parleys Canyon.In 1864 Joseph Dudler settled in Parley’s Hollow. He built a two and half story Inn and
    home with a narrow front facing south with the rest of the ground floor dug into the side
    of the hill on the north of the hollow.
  • Dudlers Inn Wine Cellar (SUP #80)
    Sponsor: Jordan River Temple Chapter, 1996
    Location: 2700 E. 2700 S., south of Interstate 80 near the mouth of Parleys Canyon.In 1870 Dudler added a brewery to the rear and west of his Inn and expanded the lower floor north four feet into the hill for the wine cellar. This rock-walled underground room has a ten-foot high domed rock ceiling and kept things cool even in the hottest weather. Dudler’s brewery and Inn at Parley’s Hollow was known for a time as Dudler’s Summer Resort and Dudler’s Saloon.
  • Golden Pass Road & Tollhouse (SUP #76)
    Sponsor: Sugar House Chapter, 1996
    Location: 2700 E. 2700 S., south of Interstate 80 near the mouth of Parleys Canyon.Built by Parley P. Pratt, the “Golden Pass” opened to travelers on July 4, 1849,
    providing a much easier route down Emigration Canyon. To help pay for the road, a toll
    gate was erected just west of the mouth of the canyon on the north side of the creek. The
    toll was listed as:“75 cts for each conveyance drawn by two animals, and 10 cts for each
    additional draught, pack or saddle animal, etc. and 1 ct for each sheep.” This route
    eventually became part of the Lincoln Highway and much later, the I-80 freeway.
  • Railroad, Park City to Sugarhouse (SUP #78)
    Sponsor: Pioneer Heritage Chapter, 1996
    Location: 2700 E. 2700 S., south of Interstate 80 near the mouth of Parleys Canyon.On June 11, 1874, the Eastern Utah Railroad built a narrow gauge rail line from
    Coalville south to the Park City mines. By 1890, the Salt Lake Eastern Railroad company
    completed the line from Salt Lake City to the Park City mines. In 1900, the Rio Grand
    Railroad Company took over the lines through Parley’s Canyon to Park City. The line
    through Parley’s Canyon serviced freight trains as well as passengers from Sugar House
    until the 1940s.
  • Sandstone Wall & Aqueduct (SUP #77)
    Sponsor: Olympus Hills Chapter, 1996
    Location: 2700 E. 2700 S., south of Interstate 80 near the mouth of Parleys Canyon.Parley’s Creek was the largest of five streams which flowed from the Wasatch Mountains
    into Parley’s Canyon. Ditches were dug, but it was determined that if walls were built
    with a conduit running along it’s top—similar to those built by the ancient Romans on a
    smaller scale—water could be lifted up to the plateaus on the north and south sides of the
    hollow. In 1891, the walls of the aqueduct were built of sandstone blocks cut from the
    mountain’s cliffs. Only a small section remains of the forty-foot high masonry where it
    cut across a ravine with an arch laid up to allow for the water to drain.
  • Suicide Rock & Reservoir (SUP #79)
    Sponsor: Holladay Chapter, 1996
    Location: Mouth of Parley’s CanyonFor hundreds of years this huge formation of red sandstone rock loomed up in the middle of the mouth of the canyon and served as a watch tower for the Indians. Legend tells of an Indian maid watching for the return of her warrior husband from battle, saw his body draped over his pony, and in her grief threw herself off the top of the rock to her death. Hence the name of Suicide Rock has been attached to this rock formation for over 150 years.

SONS OF THE UTAH PIONEERS NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS
3301 East 2920 South, Salt Lake City.

  • 1997 Sesquicentennial Trekkers (Plaque) (SUP #136)
    Sponsor:
    Trek Members, 2007
    Location:
    Sons of Utah Pioneers, Heritage Hall In 1997, one hundred sixty-eight people, representing the first company of pioneers, retraced the original pioneer trail of 150 years ago. They commenced the exodus from Nauvoo, Illinois of 1846, and followed the original company’s from Winter Quarters in Florence, Nebraska, to the valley of the Great Salt Lake in 1847. The Trek participants are listed on the plaque.
  • B&K Tannery (Plaque) (SUP #4B)
    Sponsor: Beehive Chapter, 1986
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building BalconyThe B&K Tannery, was established in 1852 by Brigham Young, Feramorz Little and John
    Winder. By 1862, the Tannery was producing quality leather. A small settlement was
    built nearby to accommodate the tannery workers, including a school for the children.
    Eventually the railroad brought in cheaper produced leather.
  • Brighton Hotel (Plaque) (SUP #4I)
    Sponsor: Holladay Chapter, 1988
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony In 1871, William S. Brighton claimed over 100 acres at the top of Big Cottonwood Canyon. William and Catherine built the first hotel there in 1874. Later they added cottages, the original Brighton store, a post office, a telephone service, a dairy service, freight haulage, a bakery and a sawmill. The hotel was razed in 1945.
  • Charles Stillman Bridge (Plaque) (SUP #4F)
    Sponsor: Holladay Chapter, 1987
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony

    The Stillman Bridge erected in 1938, spanned Parley’s Gully, tying Wasatch Boulevard
    to Parley’s Canyon Road. Named after Charles Stillman, Salt Lake County
    Commissioner of Roads and Bridges from 1918 to 1922, the bridge stood in operation
    until the new four lane highway was built through Parley’s Canyon.
  • Early Pioneer Mills (Plaque) (SUP #4A)
    Sponsor: East Mill Creek Mills Chapter, 1984
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony Gardner, Neff, and Osguthorpe were the names of three of the twenty-two mills along
    Millstream.
  • Ensign Peak (Plaque) (SUP #4C)
    Sponsor: East Mill Creek Chapter, 1986
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony
    After arriving in the Valley on Saturday, July 24, 1847, the weary Saints observed the Sabbath the following day. Then on Monday morning, almost too late in the season, they resumed the critical work of planting crops and irrigating them from the mountain streams. Although their leader, Brigham Young, was still suffering from mountain fever, he directed that construction of homes and public buildings, and exploration work and be started immediately. He himself headed a party which left about 10 o’clock a.m. with Heber C. Kimball, Willard Richards, Wilford Woodruff, George A. Smith, Ezra T. Benson, Albert Carrington and William Clayton. They climbed the prominent hill to the north of the new city, which commanded an expansive view of the valley and the Great Salt Lake below. As they planted their feet on the top of the peak, President Young remarked “This is a good place to raise an ensign.” Thus, that day Ensign Peak received the name it still bears, which signifies the coming of the Savior to reign over the whole earth — an ensign raised to all nations and all people. For some time, before suitable buildings were provided, Brigham and other leaders often repaired to the top of Ensign Peak for council meetings and special prayers for the welfare of their people, as they struggled against great odds to establish themselves in their Zion.
  • Flagpole at SUP Headquarters Bldg.
    Sponsors: Individual donors and the following Chapters: Box Elder, Brigham Young, Buena Ventura, Eagle Rock, Glendora, Hole-in-Rock, Mills, Ogden Pioneer, Settlement Canyon, South Davis, Squaw Peak, Temple Quarry, The Mountain Valley, and Twin Peaks, June 17, 2000.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

     

  • Golden Pass Road (Plaque) (SUP #4)
    Sponsor: Salt Lake City Chapter, 1984
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony
    Parley P. Pratt cut the road through Parley’s Canyon in 1849-50 as an alternative route to the Emigration Canyon pioneer trail into the valley. The beginning (or end) of this road was about Twenty-First South and Eleventh East; it continued eastward to what was called Dell Fork. The new road opened up the Parley’s Hollow area and the canyon above to industry, farming and recreation, and soon became the preferred route into the Valley. To defray the cost of construction a toll for passage was charged, as described on the plaque.
  • Handcart Companies (Plaque) (SUP #4G)
    Sponsor: Olympus Hills Chapter, 1987
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony On June 9, 1856, the first Mormon Handcart Company left Iowa City with 52 handcarts and 275 people. During the spring and summer four other companies started the perilous journey. Several others followed, nearly 3,000 souls in ten companies until 1860, when this unprecedented experiment in low cost emigration was discontinued. All these companies suffered hardships, scarce food, bad roads over hills and mountains, adverse weather conditions and other problems. But for the most part, these heroic journeys were very successful, with no greater incidence of illness or loss of life than other pioneering companies experienced. Two tragic exceptions were the very large Martin and Willie companies totaling nearly 1100 souls, which left Iowa City too late in the summer of 1856, with marginal equipment, then encountered severe winter weather which arrived with a vengeance earlier than usual. Many emigrants of all ages and sexes died of hunger, fatigue and exposure before valiant rescuers sent by Brigham Young found them. The emaciated survivors were brought safely into the Valley late in November and early December.
  • Horace A. Sorensen – Plaque (SUP #4L)
    Sponsor: Sugar House Chapter, 1988
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Heritage Hall This bust of Mr. and Mrs. Sorensen pays tribute to the many contributions of Horace Sorensen, national president of the sons of Utah Pioneers from 1954-56. He was an active collector of Pioneer artifacts and organized a replica Pioneer Village, which he presented to the SUP in 1953. First located in Salt Lake City, the village was later relocated to the Lagoon amusement park in Farmington, Utah. Horace Sorensen received Brigham Young University’s “Many Feathers” award. The University of Utah named him “Man of the Year,” in 1969.
  • Kanyon Kreek Mill (Plaque) (SUP #4H)
    Sponsor: Holladay Chapter, 1988
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony Built by Brigham Young and Feramorz Little, Kanyon Creek Mill occupied a site where
    the Country Club Golf Course now is located. The mill was used as a flour mill, cotton
    mill and woolen mill. During the smallpox epidemic of 1900, the mill was used as a pest
    house. Because the creek—a major source of culinary water for the city—ran past the
    pest house, protests eventually resulted in the old mill mysteriously burned to ruins.
  • Lambs Canyon (Plaque) (SUP #64)
    Sponsor: Canyon Rim Chapter, 1994
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony Lambs Canyon was explored shortly after the Utah Pioneers entered Salt Lake Valley in 1847. A cooper, Abel Lamb, built the first road in the draw in 1850, over which he and his sons hauled wood from the canyon forests to make barrels, tubs, washboards, churns, and water buckets which were sorely needed by the settlers in valley. The Lamb family built a home in the canyon. When food was scarce, they lived on sego roots, pigweed and beet-top greens.
  • Overland Stage (Plaque) (SUP #4D)
    Sponsor: Canyon Rim/Heritage Chapter, 1986
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony In 1860, W. H. Russell of Pony Express fame joined Hockaday & Liggett as a business
    partner, bringing modern innovations to the Stage Coach Company. He placed relay
    stations every 10–12 miles, with fresh horses or mules at each station. He assigned new
    drivers every 80 miles, and cut the travel time to 10 days. He also had stage coaches
    leaving daily, traveling in either direction, carrying mail in addition to passengers. In
    March 1862, the stage coach line was purchased by Ben Holliday, a Salt Lake City
    resident, and extended the routes into many small towns and mining camps. At the
    pinnacle, there were 5,000 miles of stage coach line in operation, extending from the
    Missouri River to the Pacific Ocean, and into Idaho, Montana and Oregon.
  • Mormon Pioneer Trail, Centennial Trekkers (Plaque) (SUP #4-f)
    Sponsor: Trek Members, 1987
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers, Heritage HallIn 1947, a centennial motorized Mormon Pioneer Trek occurred with 148 descendants of
    the Utah Pioneers reenacted the flight of the latter-day Saints from Nauvoo, Illinois in 1846 and on to the Salt Lake Valley in 1847. In 1987 a commemorative plaque of the
    Trek was unveiled by Camilla E. Kimball at SUP National headquarters. Pictured on the
    plaque are Camilla and Spencer W. Kimball (quests of the trek) standing on top of
    Independence Rock looking down at the circle of modern prairie schooners.
  • Pioneer Industry (SUP #e-1)
    Sponsor: Oquirrh Mountain, 1982
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building, 3301 E. 2920 S.

    This handsome marble monument erected at SUP headquarters pays tribute to the pioneers who established industries in the Parley’s canyon area necessary to the welfare the early settlers.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument
  • Willard Richards (Plaque) (SUP #4E)
    Sponsor: Lynn S. Richards, 1986
    Location: Sons of Utah Pioneers Building Balcony Willard Richards was converted to the LDS Church when introduced to the Book of
    Mormon by his cousin Brigham Young. He was ordained an apostle of the LDS Church in
    1840. He served the church in many capacities, including “The Keeper of the Rolls,” General of the Nauvoo Legion, and editor for several Church publications, including the
    Deseret News. He was with Joseph and Hyrum Smith when they were murdered in
    Carthage jail. He arrived in the Salt Lake Valley with Brigham Young in 1847, and died
    in 1854 at the age of 49.

THIS IS THE PLACE HERITAGE PARK

  • Angels Are Near Us (SUP #96)
    Sponsor: Sugarhouse Chapter, 1998
    Location: This Is the Place Heritage Park, 2601 East Sunnyside Avenue. Near the large “This is the Place” monument.
    This marker commemorates the wagon train sesquicentennial re-enactment in 1997, of the original trek of the Mormon Pioneers in 1847, from Winter Quarters near Omaha, Nebraska to the Valley of the Great Salt Lake. The commemorative trek occurred from April 21 to July 22, 1997.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments
  • Bodil Mortensen Statue (SUP #150)Sponsor: Bountiful Chapter 2009
    Location: This is the Place Heritage Park, 2601 Sunnyside Ave. SLC “Bodil” – Symbol of the children who walked — Willey Handcart Company.
    When the exhausted Jens and Elsie Nielsen made it to Rock Creek, a 9 year old Danish girl, Bodil Mortensen, who was traveling with them, went in search of dead sagebrush branches, the only firewood available. The Nielsens were so exhausted that when they managed to get their tent up they failed to notice that Bodil hadn’t made it back. The next morning they found Bodil’s tired, emaciated body resting against the cart wheel frozen to death still clutching an armful of firewood. The Nielsen’s son, Neil, also died during the night. Nine other members of the Willey group died that night and are all buried in a common grave.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monuments
  • Eyes Westward Statue (SUP #140)
    Sponsor:
    Sons of Utah Pioneers, National
    Location: At Main entrance, This is the Place Heritage ParkThough it was Brigham Young who led the Latter-day Saints westward to safety from mob persecution in Illinois, Brigham was carrying out the vision of the Prophet Joseph Smith, who had declared, “My people shall become a mighty host in the vastness of the Rocky Mountains.” This heroic bronze sculpture is a replica of an identical work erected in 2005 on the banks of the Mississippi River in Nauvoo, Illinois. It depicts Joseph and Brigham standing on the riverbank with a map of the westward trek that Joseph had seen in vision before his martyrdom in 1844.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument SUP Monument
  • This is the Right Place (SUP #129)
    Sponsor: Refurbished by Mills Chapter, 2007.
    Location: This is the Place Heritage Park, 2601 Sunnyside Avenue.This historic monument was re-dedicated on July 21, 2007 by Elder Boyd K. Packer of the LDS Church. The ten foot high obelisk marks the spot where, on July 24, 1847, Brigham Young uttered his famous words, “This is the right place; drive on.” Thus, the heroic advance company of the Mormon Pioneers concluded their epic 1,300 mile trek across the American prairie to their Zion in the mountains. At the dedication ceremony for the original monument, on July 25, 1921, Elder B. H. Roberts of the LDS First Council of Seventy, quoting from the journal of Church President Wilford Woodruff, stated that Brigham Young spoke those memorable words “on or near the spot where we now stand.”

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Monument SUP Monuments

UTAH STATE CAPITOL
350 North Main Street

  • Brigham Young Bust (SUP #I)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1956
    Location: Utah State Capitol, 350 N. Main StreetSponsored by the Sons of Utah Pioneers, beloved Utah Norwegian sculptor, Torleif S.
    Knaphus created a bronze bust of President Brigham Young that was placed at the
    rotunda of the State Capitol on July 24, 1956.
  • Daniel C. Jackling Statue (SUP #F)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1955
    Location: Utah State Capitol, 350 N. Main Street

SANDY, UTAH

  • Early Sandy Schools & Church Takes Root in Sandy (SUP #11)
    Sponsor: Temple Quarry Chapter, 1986
    Location: 8781 S. 250 E. Honors Sandy’s pioneer schools, churches, and their leaders. The first school building
    was built in Sandy in 1881.
  • Half-Way House, State Street (SUP #26)
    Sponsor: Temple Quarry Chapter, 1990
    Location: 9350 S State Street, Sandy, UtahBuilt in 1859, the Milo Andrus “Half Way House” was a comfortable and convenient
    two-story pioneer inn. It was one of several inns built along South State Street in the
    1850–80 period to care for the many south and north-bound travelers. The Andrus inn
    became known as the “Half Way House” because it was located midway between “Travelers Rest” and 6400 South State and Porter Rockwell’s layout near the Point of
    the Mountain. The structure was moved in 1980 to the Pioneer Trails State Park in Salt
    Lake City.
  • Neff’s Station (SUP #27)
    Sponsor: Temple Quarry Chapter, 1990
    Location: 9350 S State Street, Sandy, UtahThe Benjamin Barr Neff farm became known as “Neff’s Station at Dry Creek” or just “Neff’s Station” after Deseret Telegraph established an office there in 1871. Mary Ellen
    Love Neff, 20-year-old wife of Benjamin, operated the station. The Neff farm was an ideal location for the telegraph station because the north-south lines connecting Salt Lake City
    and east-west lines connecting Alta and Bingham, crossed at that point. With the coming
    of the cross-valley railroad through the Sandy area in 1873, the telegraph station was
    moved to that community.
  • Old Chapel
    Sponsor: Murray Chapter, 1992
  • Temple Granite Quarry (UPTLA #49)
    Sponsor: Temple Quarry Chapter, 2004
    Location: Mouth of Little Cottonwood Canyon, Trailhead ParkOriginally dedicated in 1934, this monument has been moved and refurbished. Temple
    building blocks were extracted from the huge granite boulders located on the canyon
    floor. The cut stones were then hauled about twenty miles to the Salt Lake Temple site
    and finished before placement. The quarrying began in 1862 and was finished in 1893.
  • Union Fort (UPTLA #109)
    Sponsors: Union Lions Club, American Legion, Daughter of the Utah Pioneers, and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1947
    Location: 1250 East 7200 South.Early in 1849 the pioneers settled Union 1½ miles southeast of here. The name “Union” was suggested by William McGuire, schoolteacher, to emphasize the unity existing among the Saints. Water, grass, wood and clay were abundant. Silas Richards, the first Bishop and school teacher, arrived November 4, 1849. In 1853-54 Union Fort was built on ten acres donated by Jehl Cox. The wall made of rocks and adobes with clay mortar was 6 feet thick at the base, 2 feet at the top and 12 feet high. It enclosed 23 homes and a school used also as a church and amusement hall. The wall ran north and south 25 feet west of this marker.
  • Union Pioneer Cemetery (SUP #j-1)
    Sponsor: Union Fort, 1984
    Location: 1455 E. Creek Road
    GPS Location: N 40° 36′ 34.9″ ; W 111° 50′ 55.4″

TAYLORSVILLE, UTAH

  • Archibald Gardner Mill (SUP #73)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapters, 1995
    Location: 665 Sunstone Road (4800 South)About 1880, Archibald Gardner built a water powered burr mill. In 1885 it was
    converted into one of the first and finest roller mills in the valley, owned and operated by
    the Bennion family of Taylorsville. Destroyed by fire in 1909.
  • Bennion Ward Memorial
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapters, 1995
    Location: 6134 S. Jordan Canal Road (1850 W.)Names the servicemen of the Bennion Ward who served or died for their country during
    World War I. It was originally placed in the Chapel at Redwood Road and 6200 South.
  • Early Bennion History (SUP #K2)
    Sponsor: Jordan River Temple Chapter, 1984
  • Early Settlers (SUP #13)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapters, 1986
    Location: 1365 W. 4800 S.After many hours of research at Church Archives, chapter members acquired the names of
    over 300 pioneers who settled on the westside of the Jordan River. The names were
    placed in a stainless steel box inside the monument and a copy of the names is available
    at the SUP library.
  • Millrace (SUP #117)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapters, 2005
    Location: Millrace Park, 1100 W. 5400 S.In 1855, upon the council of Brigham Young, Joseph Harker with John and Samuel
    Bennion hand-dug a lower ditch to irrigate the farmland on the river bottoms west of the
    Jordan River. A small rock dam was constructed at about 6300 South. In 1880, a new
    grist mill was constructed on the Jordan River near 4800 South and water from the “Lower Ditch” powered the mill.
  • Old School House (SUP #9 & 50)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapters, 1986, 1992
    Location: 6200 S. Redwood RoadOn this site in 1905 stood a red brick building called the 64th District School House. The
    name of the school changed three times and was eventually sold to the LDS church in
    1921.
  • Pioneer Cemetery (SUP #Q-1)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapters, 1991
    Location: 4575 S Jordan River Pkwy, Taylorsville, Utah
  • Route of Johnston’s Army (SUP #K3)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapter, 1984
  • Servicemens Memorial – Bennion Community
    Location: 4500 S. Jordan River
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapter, 2001
    List the names of servicemen from the Taylorsville/ Bennion area who gave their lives in World Wars I & II.
  • Taylorsvile–Bennion Cemetery & Cemetery Flagpole (SUP #61 & 62)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapters, 1993
    Location: 4575 S. Redwood RoadErected in memory of the early area setters.
  • Welsh Settlement (SUP #132)
    Sponsor: Taylorsville/Bennion Chapter, 2007
    Location: 4550 South Jordan River Parkway, at the Freedom Shrine
    GPS: N 40° 40′ 28.0″ , W 111° 54′ 30.8″
    In October, 1849, under the leadership of Dan Jones, a Welsh company entered the Valley. Later, a few settled a farming community along the river a short distance north of here. They were not adept at farming so the settlement was abandoned with many going to Sanpete County to mine coal and settle the town of Wales.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP photo SUP Photo

WEST JORDAN CITY, UTAH

    • Salt Lake & Utah Railroad (SUP #35)
      Sponsor: Jordan River Temple Chapter, 1990
      Location: 80th S 18th W, West Jordan, Utah
      GPS: N 40° 36′ 25.02″ , W 111°56′ 34.62″, elev. 4404 ft.Better known as the “Orem Line,” the Salt Lake & Utah Railroad extended south from
      Salt Lake City along 1800 West, through West Jordan and on to Payson for sixty-seven
      miles. A nine-mile branch line serviced Magna. By 1916, twenty trains ran daily to
      Spanish Fork. Following World War I, the Salt Lake & Utah Railroad began to suffer
      and ended services in June 1946.

 

    • Utah–Idaho Sugar Company (SUP #12)
      Sponsor: Jordan River Temple Chapter, 1986
      Location: West Jordan City Park

 

WEST VALLEY CITY, UTAH

  • Struggle for Water, West of the Jordan River (SUP #71)
    Sponsor: Oquirrh Mountain Chapter, 1996
    Location: West Valley City ParkIn 1848, Joseph Harker built a dugout along the west bank of the Jordan River at about
    3300 South and a dozen families moved in to the area of 45th South and Redwood Road.
    A dam built at Jordan Narrows and the South Jordan Canal, excavated from 1870–
    1875, brought the first water to Granger. After years of construction, Salt Lake County’s
    longest and largest canal, the Utah & Salt Lake Canal—32 miles from Jordan Narrows
    to Magna—provided Hunter its first water in 1881.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

San Juan County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • George Albert Smith Arch
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1957
    Location: San Juan Valley of Tall Men (In the Valley of Tall Rocks or Tall Men)Named in recognition of the work of the Mormon Apostle, and later the Church President, for his work with the Boy Scouts of America

BLUFF, UTAH

  • Sun Bonnet Rock
    San Juan Mission
    (SUP #L)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1958
    Location: 913 E. Navajo Twins Dr. (between Twin Rocks Trading Post and Café)
    GPS: N 37° 17′ 13.5″, W 109° 32′ 49.9″The first group to settle San Juan County were the 230 Mormon pioneers who first
    arrived in Bluff by way of the famous Hole-in-the-Rock trail on April 6, 1880.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Sevier County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Peace Treaty with Fish Lake Indians (UPTLA #6)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1931 Location: Southwestern shore of Fish Lake, Utah
    GPS: N 38° 32′ 09.97″, W 111° 44′ 15.26″, elevation 8,854 ft.A Peace Treaty with Fish Lake Indians was made here June 14, 1873. This treaty led up to the final treaty at Cedar Grove in Grass Valley July 1, 1873, ending the Black Hawk Indian War in Southern Utah. The plaque names those who were at the treaty council, plus a number of others unnamed. This treaty has never been broken.

RICHFIELD, UTAH

  • Historic Lime Kiln (SUP #125)
    Sponsor: Sevier Valley Chapter, 2006
    Location: One-half mile from the north Richfield off-ramp from I-15.This old lime kiln, now restored, is the best preserved of seven kilns constructed here during the late 1880’s. It was built by John Kyhl for Jens Larsen Jenson, a Swedish immigrant. The vital lime was used in the construction of homes, churches and schools of the early settlers. Limestone was quarried in the nearby hills, malted down in the kilns and cooled – a process that took several days. The result was a fine, white powder suitable for brick-making, mortar and plaster. Use of this kiln ended around 1905 when Mr. Jensen went blind from exposure to the extreme heat. The plaque on the accompanying monument explains the importance and use of lime in the pioneer economy. The adjacent trail and kiosk was built as an Eagle Scout project by a great-grandson of the original builder of the kiln.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

Summit County, Utah

HENEFER, UTAH

  • Deputy Sheriff Rodney Badger Gave His Life (SUP #87)
    Sponsors: Centerville Chapter and Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 1998
    Location: Between Henefer and Echo on Old Highway 30,.7 miles south of Henefer.In 1853 an immigrant family was fording the Weber River, when a woman and four
    children were thrown from an overturned wagon. Deputy Sheriff Rodney Badger, one of
    the original pioneers, saved the woman and two of the children, but while searching for
    the other two children he was overcome by the elements and drowned. On April 26, 1996,
    143 years after he gave his life in the line of duty, the Purple Heart and Medal of Honor
    were awarded to Rodney Badger and given to his descendants by the Salt Lake County
    Sheriff’s Office.
  • “Mormon” Pioneer Trail (UPTLA #4)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1931
    Location: 100 North Main Street.Under the leadership of Brigham Young, the “Mormon” Pioneers exploring their way to the Valley of the Great Salt Lake passed here July 15 to 20 1847. Orson Pratt’s advance company reached here July 15; others followed at intervals. The rear company, including Brigham Young who was ill with mountain fever, encamped near here July 20. The trail turned to the left at this point to avoid Weber Canyon, which was then considered impassable by wagon trains. The Trail ascended Henefer Creek to its head and passed thence into East Canyon, approximately along the route now traversed by the highway.
  • Temple Camp & Supplication Hills (SUP #85)
    Sponsors: Centerville Chapter and Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 1998
    Location: Between Henefer and Echo on Old Highway 30,.7 miles south of Henefer.On July 17, 1847, Brigham Young and the main group of pioneers camped on the east
    bank of the Weber River, were unable to travel further due to Brigham’s illness. Four
    members of the Quorum of the Twelve and six other brethren walked two miles from the
    Temple Camp, ascending the steep “Supplication Hills.” At the top they dressed for
    temple prayer and pled to the Lord on behalf of President Young and others who were
    sick in camp, the saints who were following, and for their own wives and children left
    behind at Winter Quarters. At that time Brigham was given a blessing of health, after
    which he fell into a deep sleep and awakened feeling much better.
  • Weber River Crossing & Campsite (SUP #86)
    Sponsors: Centerville Chapter and Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 1998
    Location: Between Henefer and Echo on Old Highway 30,.7 miles south of Henefer.The first overland travelers to cross the Weber River were the Harlan-Young, Lienhard,
    and Donner-Reed parties of 1846. At this crossing, Lansford Hastings left a note telling
    the Donner-Reed party not to pass through Weber Canyon. As a result of this note, the Donner-Reed Company blazed the trail from Henefer Valley to Salt Lake Valley, which
    the Mormons followed in 1847 for the next 23 years. Rafts and a ferry were used by the
    Mormons until a bridge was built in 1859.

SNYDERVILLE, UTAH

  • Snyderville Cemetery (SUP #88)
    Sponsor:
    Holladay Chapter, 1998
    Location: Snyderville CemeteryIn 1850, Samuel Comstock Snyder bought out Parley P. Pratt’s claim of land called “Parley’s Park,” for a yoke of oxen. Samuel and his son Ephraim Stockwell Snyder
    became the first pioneers to build homes and settle the basin. They built a reservoir, a
    sawmill, and a gristmill on Spring Creek. Samuel and his brother Chester’s descendants
    are buried in the Snyderville Cemetery.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Tooele County, Utah

Although most locations are listed alphabetically, the next five are in the order found along the Pony Express Trail in Tooele County. After leaving Fairfield (Camp Floyd) in Utah County, and ascending Five-mile Pass, these stations are in geographic sequence going west as follows:

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Rush Valley Station (UPTLA #98)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association
    Location: Approximately 7 miles west of Five-Mile Pass on Faust RoadAlthough this is listed as the first Pony Express Station in Tooele County as the trail continues from Utah County over Five-Mile Pass, there is some doubt that it was a Pony Express Station. But it was a Stage Station on the Pony Express Trail.
  • Faust Pony Express Station (UPTLA #53 & SUP #W)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1970
    Location: State Highway 36, 6 miles north of Vernon

    Faust Station was operated by Henry J. Faust, a native of Germany. After joining the Mormon Church he accepted a position as a station manager and part-time rider with the Pony Express in 1860. He and his wife survived a narrow escape with Indians while living in Faust. In 1870 Henry moved to Salt Lake City in the livery stable business. President James E. Faust of the LDS Church First Presidency has family ties to this historic place.
  • Lookout Pass (UPTLA #86 & SUP #2)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter, 1984
    Location: 8 miles west of Highway 36 & Lookout Pass Road IntersectionBefore beginning the long crossing of the Great Salt Lake Desert, Pony Express Riders first ascended Lookout Pass after leaving Faust in Rush Valley. This station existed one mile west of the summit. The next station was Simpson Springs, 16 miles to the southwest.
  • Simpson Springs Pony Express Station (UPTLA #87)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmark Association
    Location: Twenty miles west of Vernon, Utah.
    GPS: 40° 02′ 19.36″ W 112° 47′ 18.34″, elevation 4925 ft.Simpson Springs was a station on the Pony Express and stage route
  • River Bed Station (UPTLA # 88)
    Sponsors: The Oregon Trail Memorial Association and the Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1940. Monument built by the CCC.
    Location: Eight miles west of the Simpson Springs Pony Express Station.
    GPS: N 39° 57′ 35.3″, W 112° 53′ 42.5″This station lies on the floor of the ancient Sevier River that drained from the area of Garfield County into Lake Bonneville. The river route was changed after a lava flow altered the river’’s course into the Delta and Sevier Lake area. Because of flash flooding in the area, little evidence of the station remains. According to Pony Express folklore, this site was difficult to man because of its reputation of being regularly visited by desert spirits.

Note: At this point the Pony Express Trail goes into Juab County for the next five stations. (see Juab County listings). Then the trail returns to Tooele County for three more stations as follows:

  • Round Canyon Pony Express Station (UPTLA # 93)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association about 1940
    Location: In the easterly end of Overland Canyon about 12 miles northwest of Callao. Turn left onto dirt road six miles north of Callao to reach site.
    GPS: N 40ºº 02 ́ 40.2 seconds, W 113ºº 48 ́ 15.1 seconds.
    Round Canyon Station was located 12 miles from Willow Springs Station. It was built in the east mouth of Overland Canyon to replace an earlier station further up the canyon that could not be defended against the Indians. The gun ports built in this station are still evident.
  • Burnt Pony Express Station (UPTLA #94)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, about 1940
    Location: Approximately six miles west of Round Canyon Station on the lower end of Clifton Flat. GPS: N 40° 04′ 36.5″, W 113° 50′ 44.0″This monument represents the approximate site of the Burnt Station also known as the original Canyon Station. It was built about 1860, and the actual site is unknown. Station keepers at this site were reportedly killed during an ambush by Indians while having breakfast. One mile beyond this site the road forks. Going right leads to Gold Hill; going left to Ibapah.

IBAPAH, UTAH

  • Deep Creek Pony Express Station (UPTLA #47)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: One quarter mile past the Ibapah Historical Monument, take dirt road on the right and proceed one mile to monument.
    GPS: N 40ºº 01 ́ 47.1 seconds, W 113ºº 59 ́ 12.5 seconds.Deep Creek Station in Ibapah was the most westerly station in the present boundaries of Utah. The station was well equipped with supplies for Pony Express riders. It also became a stopping place for the Overland Stage. This site was home for Howard Egan, who was the division superintendent for Pony Express services between Salt Lake City and Eureka, Nevada.

GRANTSVILLE, UTAH

  • Grantsville Fort (UPTLA #42)
    Sponsor: Grantsville Camp, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: At old Grantsville 1st Ward Church, Grantsville, Utah.This monument marks the site of the Grantsville Fort built in 1853 as protection against the Indians. The Fort was thirty rods square with walls twelve feet high, five feet thick at the base and eighteen inches thick at the top. The north wall was one hundred forty three feet north of the monument. About fifty people lived inside the Fort during the early settlement of the town of Grantsville, which was named in honor of George D. Grant, one of its pioneers.
  • Hilda Anderson Erickson, Pioneer (SUP #69)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter, 1994
    Location: 429 E. Main St.

STOCKTON, UTAH

  • Colonel Steptoe’s Military Camp (UPTLA #97)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, CCC Camp G154, U.S. Grazing Service, Dept. of the Interior, Union Pacific Railroad Company, 20 Aug. 1941
    Location: Approximately three miles south of Stockton, Utah, on Highway # 36In early Sept. 1854, U.S. Army Col. E.J. Steptoe and his troops built an encampment on the eastern shore of Rush Lake in Rush Valley. Col. Steptoe was sent to Utah by President Franklin Pierce to take over as governor from Brigham Young in response to the Gunnison Massacre. However, upon learning of Young’s popularity, he declined to take the position and requested that Young be retained as governor. Several hundred men, mules and horses briefly thrived at the location of teptoe’s camp, which is marked today by a roadside monument that includes a grave of an infant who had died at the encampment. The detachment left for Benicia, California in early April, 1855. Later, an Overland Stage station was located here from 1868 to the early 1870’s. A smelter was erected here in 1871 and operated until bout 1880. The Union Pacific Railroad reached here in 1902.

TOOELE, UTAH

  • Lookout Point (UPTLA #95 & SUP #47)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter, 1992
    Location: State Highway 36, 6 miles south of TooeleNear the top of Stockton Pass you can view South Mountain, the Stansbury Mountains,
    all of Tooele Army Depot, Grantsville, and Soldier’s Bridge. Directly below is the old
    ghost town of Bauer (private property), the Honorine Tunnel, and the “end of the line”
    for the old Utah/Nevada Western Railroad (1885–1905).
  • Tooele Court House (SUP #90)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter, 1999
    Location: 47 S. MainThe old Tooele County Courthouse was ready for occupancy in 1899. The courthouse
    served the county for 75 years and was replaced with a new courthouse in 1973.
  • Tooele Library Pioneer Memorial (SUP #97)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter 2000
    Location: 200 West and Vine Street.This lovely statue and monument displays the names of more than eight hundred original pioneers who settled in Tooele.
  • Tooele’s Mud Wall (SUP #147)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter, 2009
    Location: 100 West and Vine Street, on Library corner in TooeleIn the year 1854 or 1855, to provide protection from attacks by the Indians, the settlers of Tooele built a mud wall most of the way around the town. The attacks never came, due in part to the counsel given by Brigham Young to feed the Indians, rather than fight them. The reverse of the monument gives a detailed description of how it was built. The replica is one-half size of the original wall, which was built 2 ½ feet wide at the base, one foot wide at the top and nine feet high. It was built in 16 foot sections.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Tooele Pioneer Cemetery (SUP #91)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter, 1999
    Location: Hwy 36 at mouth of Settlement Canyon This monument at the mouth of Settlement Canyon commemorates the creation of a
    special memorial garden for early pioneer graves that had been periodically disturbed by
    construction projects, and then relocated further away from state Route 36.
  • William Ajax Underground Store (SUP #10)
    Sponsor: Settlement Canyon Chapter, 1986
    Location: State Highway 36, between Clover & VernonEntrepreneur and businessman William Ajax created this unique two-story underground
    store in 1870. Patrons from nearby found a wide variety of merchandise, food, clothing,
    housewares, hardware, tools, and machines. The value of the merchandise was estimated
    in excess of $70,000 and operated until 1914.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Uintah County, Utah

FORT DUCHESNE, UTAH

  • Fort Robidoux (UPTLA #75)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, White Rocks Camp DUP, Uintah Basin Industrial Conference, 1937
    Location: At Whiterocks Road on Highway 40, near Fort Duchesne.

    The first year-long abode of white men in what is now Utah, was Antoine Robidoux’s Indian and fur trading post (Fort Wintey or Uintah). It was built 8 miles north of here in 1832. It was on the trails from Taos, New Mexico to the Pacific Northwest, and from Utah Lake to the Platte River Region. Many trappers traded and wintered here. Several distinguished travelers also sojourned here, including Kit Carson, Joseph Williams, Rufus B. Sage, Marcus Whitman, A. L. Lovejoy and John C. Fremont. The fort was burned by Indians in 1844.

Utah County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Birdseye Marble Quarry (SUP #P-1)
    Sponsor: Palmyra Chapter, 1990
    Location: About seven miles south of Thistle Junction (U.S. Highways 6 and 89), adjacent to highway 89, just east of Birdseye LDS Ward Chapel.Looking east to the red ledges you can see the quarry originally operated by the Mormon Church and others from the1880s to1940s. Trade names included Nebo Rock Works, Thistle Rock Works and Birdseye Marble Quarry. Stone from the quarry is in the Utah State Capitol, Mormon Chapel in Washington, D.C. and the Lincoln Memorial.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Little Diamond Fork Battle –– Black Hawk War (SUP # 145)
    Sponsor: Dimmick Family and Maple Mountain Chapter, 2008, (old monument refurbished)
    Location: Diamond Fork, Spanish Fork Canyon, next to Palmyra Campground
    GPS: N 40° 04′ , W 111° 26′
    On June 26, 1866, a small group of settlers and Indians fought a battle. The settlers claimed the Indians had stolen cattle and pursued them to this point. Two settlers, Albert Dimmick and John Edmundson, and several Indians were killed. The battle was fought two miles northwest of this monument.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

FAIRFIELD, UTAH

  • Fairfield – Camp Floyd – Fort Crittenden (UPTLA #82)
    Sponsor: Citizens of Fairfield and Lehi, Oregon Trail Memorial Association and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1939.
    Location: Camp Floyd and Stagecoach Inn State Park, Fairfield, Utah.
    In 1855, Fairfield was settled by John Carson, William Carson, David Carson, William Beardshall and John Clegg. This monument is at the entrance, at the southeast corner of a rock fort four rods square, erected in 1856-7. Camp Floyd, adjoining Fairfield on the south and west, was established July 4, 1858 by Brigadier General Albert Sidney Johnston and the Utah Expeditionary Forces, numbering about 3,000 men. This force had some to Utah to suppress the so-called “Mormon Rebellion.” Colonel Philip St. George Cooke succeeded in command March 1, 1860 and changed the name to Ft. Crittenden Feb 6, 1861. In 1860 the population, including soldiers was 7,800, making this Utah’s third largest city. The fort was abandoned July 1861. An Overland Stage Station was established in 1859 was operated until 1868. A Pony Express station operated here from April 3, 1860 to October 26, 1861. This station was 539 feet east and 210 feet north of the monument. This monument was built of rocks from the barracks and guard house of Camp Floyd, the Fairfield Fort wall and Indian hieroglyphic rocks from 5-mile Pass.
  • Philip S. G. Cooke: Mormon Battalion Company (SUP #Q)
    Sponsor: Temple Quarry Chapter, 1962
    Location: At Camp Floyd and Stagecoach Inn State Park.
    GPS: N. 40°15′ 09.90″ W. 112° 05′ 56.29″Col. Philip St. George Cooke commanded the Mormon Battalion on the greater part of its historic march during the Mexican War. Cooke was an impartial friend, humanitarian, and a soldier unequivocally loyal to the Union. When Federal troops entered Utah in 1858, he helped establish Camp Floyd as their headquarters. From August 1860 to July 1861, he served as the commanding officer of the military department of Utah, earning the respect of the Mormon people. When the Civil War broke out, and John B. Floyd, U.S. Secretary of War, became one of those who defected to the South, the name of Camp Floyd was changed to Fort Crittenden. General Albert Sydney Johnston, leader of the army invading Utah, also joined the South. Col. Cooke received orders via Pony Express in May 1861, to abandon the Fort. He later was given the rank of Brigadier General.

LEHI, UTAH

  • The History of the Lehi Sugar Factory (SUP #139)
    Sponsor: Lehi Chapter, Blue Bell Camp DUP, Civic Improvement Association of Lehi, 2008
    Location: 850 South Millpond Road (850 East)The Lehi Sugar Factory was built by the Utah Sugar Company in 1891, with the first sugar being produced on October fifteenth of that year. 556 farmers had grown 1500 acres of beets that year. The next year they grew 1800 acres. The factory employed 135 men and could process 300 tons of beets a day. In 1896 the factory set a record for processing 435 tons in a single day, and for the entire campaign of 1898 they processed 36,000 tons of beets, a new record. In 1899 and 1900 the factory was remodeled to double its capacity. In 1915 the factory was again remodeled and the 184 foot high smokestack was added. This was the peak production year for the plant. It processed 131,401 tons of beets and produced 18,737 tons of granulated sugar. In 1921 the workers went on strike to protest the 12 hour work day. Thereafter the plant ran three 8-hour shifts. Two diseases affected beets in this area; nematodes (round worms), and “curly top” from white fly infection. The last year of production was 1924. Beets were still raised in this area for many years but shipped to other locations to be processed into sugar. The warehouse built in 1914 was used to store bags of sugar for many years. After the warehouse was no longer used, the property sat idle until 1979 when it was sold. In 1996 the smokestack was remodeled into a cell phone antenna tower.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Lehi Chapel (SUP #Y)
    Sponsor: Lehi Chapter, 1973
    Location: 200 W 200 S, Lehi, Utah
    This marker commemorates the ancient, beloved old “Lehi Meeting House” built in 1855 which served the community and church for 96 years.
  • Pioneers of Lehi (UPTLA #118 and SUP #A)
    Sponsors: Lehi Centennial committee and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1950
    Location: 1300 South Saratoga Rd.The Pioneers of Lehi settled in this vicinity in the fall of 1850. Thirteen families located at Sulfur Spring, later Snow’s Spring, forty rods east of here, where a Fort was begun. Another group formed the Lott Settlement, to the southeast. Others located nearby. The following year, most of the families moved to higher ground on Dry Creek, selected in July 1850 by Canute Peterson and six companions and established Evansville, named for Bishop David Evans. By legislative enactment, February 5, 1852 the “City of Lehi” was incorporated. It included the area between Utah Lake and the north foothills. The name Lehi was taken from the Book of Mormon. This monument was erected as a part of Lehi’s centennial celebration.

OREM, UTAH

  • Orem Shortline RR (SUP K1)
    Sponsor: Jordan River Temple Chapter, 1984

PLEASANT GROVE, UTAH

  • Old Pleasant Grove Fort (UPTLA #133)
    Sponsor: Timpanogos District Explorer Scouts and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1958
    Location: 300 South 200 EastIn 1853 because of Indian troubles, Brigham Young instructed the pople to build forts for protection. A rock wall, two feet six inches thick and from three to five feet high and four city blocks square, was built here. Private homes faced the center of the fort. In the center four blocks were situated the barns and a community corral. Culinary water was carried in flumes.
  • Utah’s First Indian Battle (UPTLA #56)
    Sponsor: The Adult Aaronic Priesthood of the Timpanogos Stake and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1935
    Location: 300 East 100 North Street.The first battle between Indians and the Utah Pioneers occurred in February 1849, two miles east of this monument, near the mouth of the canyon. Involved were the Deseret Militia and the Indians. The stream and canyon were named “Battle Creek” from that encounter

PROVO, UTAH

  • Dan Jones, Welch Missionary (SUP 58)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1993
    Location: Provo, Utah LDS Missionary Training Center

    This large, original oil painting by artist Clark Kelley Price entitled: “Dan Jones Awakens Wales,” was donated to the LDS Church by the Sons of Utah Pioneers and is on display at the Missionary Training Center in Provo. Captain Dan Jones is pictured preaching the gospel to people in a south Wales village in the early 1850s. As prophesied by the Prophet Joseph Smith, Jones was instrumental in the conversion and immigration to Utah of several thousand Welsh Saints.
  • Escalante Trail (UPTLA #1)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association 1931
    Location: 100 South Main, Provo Courthouse Grounds.Fray Francisco Silvestre Velez De Escalante and Fray Francisco Atansio Dominguez, two Catholic Priests of the Franciscan Order accompanied by their attendants (listed), encamped near here September 24 and 25, 1776 to open a wider field for mission work among the Indians. They were seeking an overland route from Santa Fe New Mexico to Monterey California. These Priests were the first white men to enter what is now the State of Utah and the first to give us a written record of the geography of the country and the character of its people.
  • Old Tabernacle Lintel Stone (SUP #18)
    Sponsors: George Albert Smith Chapter and Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 1954
    Location: In front of the DUP Museum in North Park, 600 North State Street, Provo. This sandstone lintel capped the front entrance of the Provo Tabernacle. Apostle John Taylor dedicated the building on August 24, 1867. The George Albert Clark family donated the lintel stone to the Sons and Daughters of Utah Pioneers of Provo for preservation. It was placed at the site on July 24, 1954.
  • Settlement of Provo in 1849
    Sponsor: George Albert Smith Chapter July 14, 1941
    Location: Sowiette Park ( North Park ), Approximately 600 North on 500 West.Provo was settled by Mormon Pioneers March 12, 1849. The original small “ Fort Utah ” was immediately constructed at about 150 North Geneva Road in west Provo. East of this monument a second fort was built in April 1850. It was here that the settlers were threatened with massacre by Chief Walker and his band of Indians, but Walker was deterred and the settlers saved by the stern warning of the older chief, Sowiette, “When you attack you will find me and my braves defending.”

SPANISH FORK, UTAH

  • Pioneer Cemetery (SUP #R1)
    Sponsor:
    Palmyra Chapter SUP and Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 1991
    Location: Spanish Fork Canyon Road at 1400 East, turning South.

    The monument honors 49 people buried from 1851 to 1866 in the first cemetery in Spanish Fork.

SPRINGVILLE, UTAH

  • The Pioneer Mother (UPTLA)
    Sponsors: DUP and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1932
    Location: 50 South Main Street, Springville.In honor of the noble women who braved the wilderness.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Wasatch County, Utah

HEBER CITY, UTAH

  • Peace Treaty –– Blackhawk War (SUP #146)
    Sponsor: The Mountain Valley Chapter SUP, 2008
    Location: 300 North 200 East
    During the Blackhawk War Mormon settlers and Ute Indians struggled to feed their people. Mormon livestock displaced wild game on grazing lands which the Indians depended upon, forcing them to prey upon Mormon livestock. In the spring of 1867, a hungry Ute was captured butchering a cow in the Heber Valley. Bishop Murdock promised him a release if he would carry a personal message to Chief Tabiona requesting an end to the long and needless war. The Chief said he would talk only with “Old Murdock!”On August 19th Chief Tabiona and several hundred of his people entered the town of Heber City and went directly to Bishop Joseph Murdock’s home where they camped. The following day the townspeople prepared a feast on the lot where this monument is located and enough cattle were roasted to feed everyone. Tables were loaded with bread, corn and other delicacies to feed their guests.After a day of feasting and talking Bishop Murdock, Chief Tabby, and his Sub-Chiefs went to an upstairs room in the bishop’s home, where a peace pipe was smoked and a treaty of friendship was signed. This treaty ended the fighting between the settlers in Heber Valley and the Northern Utes, as all honored their vows to maintain peace.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo SUP Photo

WALLSBURG, UTAH

  • Fort Wallsburg (UPTLA #66)
    Sponsors: Mountain Valley Chapter, SUP, 2003
    Location: 100 South Main, Wallsburg, UtahWhen the fort was completed in 1865, it was occupied by twenty families. It was used until the Indian Peace Treaty in 1867.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Washington County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Hamblin Cemetery (SUP #95)
    Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter, 2000
    Location: From St. George, take Highway 18 toward Enterprise; turn onto the road to Pinto. Watch for signs for the road to Hamblin. The marker is just off the road leading to Pinto.
    GPS: 37° 32.117N 113° 36.464 WThis marker honors the early settlers of the pioneer settlement of Hamblin. Names of these settlers are listed on the plaque.
  • Hebron Cemetery
    Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter, 1989
    Location: From Enterprise, Utah go west 5.7 miles toward the Nevada border, then turn right (north) at Shoal Creek Road and follow the signs to the cemetery.
    Honoring the early settlers of the settlement of Hebron.
  • Monument to Harrisburg Pioneers (SUP #57)
    Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter, 1993
    Location: South of the town of Leeds, Utah, at the site of early Harrisburg.A tribute to the early settlers of the Harrisburg area south of Leeds, Utah. Names of these settlers are on the monument.
  • Mountain Meadow Massacre (UPTLA #17)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and the people of Southern Utah, 1932. Monument Re-dedicated 1990, marker removed in 1999.
    Location: 8.5 miles south of the city of Enterprise, Utah, on Hiway 18.
    GPS: N 37° 28′ 823″ W 113° 37′ 845″ elevation 5847 ft.This plaque is now in the LDS Museum of Church History and Arts. It was moved when the monument on which it was mounted, was replaced by a new one. The plaque reads: MOUNTAIN MEADOWS, a favorite recruiting [resting] place on the old Spanish Trail. In this vicinity, September 7 – 11, 1857, occurred one of the most lamentable tragedies in the annals of the west. A company of about 140 Arkansas and Missouri emigrants led by Captain Charles Fancher, enroute to California, was attacked by white men and Indians. All but 17, being small children, were killed. John D. Lee, who confessed participation as a leader, was legally executed here March 23, 1877. Most of the emigrants were buried in their own defense pits.

HURRICANE, UTAH

  • Gould’s Sheep Shearing Mill (SUP #124)
    Sponsor: Hurricane Valley Chapter, 2004
    Location: 6.4 miles from Hurricane, Utah
  • Historic Lookout Point
    Sponsor: Hurricane Valley Chapter
    Location: 850 North 100 West, Hurricane, UtahWith the settlement of Toquerville in 1858, the settlers soon realized that the farmland available for irrigation could not support them. Their survival would depend upon grazing and ranching in the surrounding country. The Hurricane Bench area, just seven miles to the south, seemed well suited to their needs. A rock corral and a fort were built on this high knoll. A guard at night and herders in the daytime had visual access to the surrounding landscape and were within sight of Toquerville. Wood and brush stored nearby were to be ignited in the event of trouble, whereupon armed horsemen from Toquerville, upon seeing the smoke and flames, could be there within half an hour. Today the fort and a small picnic area sits atop the rock wall.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Hurricane Canal Trailhead Monuments (#15, 100, 100A)
    Sponsor: Hurricane Valley Chapter, 1987 & 2001
    Location: 200 East 100 North; GPS: 37° 10′ 41.65″ N, 113° 17′ 03.47″ WAt this location there are four markers mounted on large rocks; also other artifacts and a bowery with seating. These monuments mark the spot where water first flowed into Hurricane Valley from the Rio Virgin River. The canal was literally etched into the mountainside stretching hundreds of feet above the canyon floor, passing through ten tunnels of solid rock and over five trestled flumes. With hand tools and dynamite, the 12-mile channel took twelve long years to build. The four plaques are titled as follows: Birth of Hurricane, Builders of Historic Hurricane Canal, Historic Hurricane Canal and Historic Hurricane Canal Trail.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo SUP PhotoSUP Photo SUP Photo
  • Hurricane Valley Heritage Park
    Location: 35 West State StreetThis park is truly a “showplace” with it’s beautiful pond and waterfalls, artifact
    depicting pioneer life, and it’s impressive 8-foot monument topped with a sculpted
    pioneer family in “prayerful thankfulness.” Many plaques honor the pioneers of the area
    and the history of Hurricane, Utah.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

Central Monument and Statue (SUP #23)
Sponsor: Hurricane Valley Chapter, 1988

An impressive 8-foot monument topped with a sculpted pioneer family in “prayerful thankfulness.” Notable features of the early history of Hurricane are noted on plaques on each side of the monument, as follows:

Early Public Buildings (SUP 23B)
This plaque pays tribute to the first historic buildings that housed the school, seminary,
church and relief society of Hurricane.

Hurricane Canal (SUP #23D)
On August 6, 1904, pioneer families from Virgin City, Grafton, Toquerville, LaVerkin,
Rockville and Springdale met to witness the first water from the Virgin River gurgle out
of the Hurricane canal. On that same date, the city was named “Hurricane” from the
historic Hurricane Cliffs.

Hurricane City (SUP #23C)
In 1906, eleven families established their homes in the valley. Hurricane was the last
pioneer settlement of the area made possible by the 12-mile historic canal that gave the
life blood of water to the valley.

Noble Pioneers of Hurricane (SUP #23A)

This plaque lists the first settlers of Hurricane.

  • Parley P. Pratt – Southern Exploring Company 1849-50 (#134)
    Sponsor: Hurricane Valley Chapter, 2007
    Location: At the extreme north end of Main Street, Hurricane, overlooking the confluence of Ash and LaVerkin Creeks with the Virgin River. This is a companion monument to a similar structure on the opposite side of the gorge in LaVerkin.

    The confluence of the Ash and LaVerkin Creeks with the Virgin River is important in the history of this region. In November 1849, Brigham Young commissioned Parley P. Pratt to assemble an exploring party of 50 men with necessary wagons and provisions to explore the southern region of Utah. They were to explore south to the rim of the Great Basin, over the rim to the Virgin River country, go no farther than Las Vegas Springs and return by spring. They were sent to find locations with the right combinations of water, soil, timber, grazing, and climate for possible settlements. This monument describes their 716-mile arduous journey, and contains a the list of men who participated. Many of these men returned to settle the Iron and Cotton Missions. Parley was less than enthusiastic about the Virgin River country, calling it “a wide expanse of chaotic matter –– a country in ruins.”

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

LAVERKIN, UTAH

  • Morris Wilson Memorial Park
    Sponsor: Hurricane Valley Chapter, 1988
    Location: Main and Center StreetsMorris Wilson worked for years on the Hurricane Canal and on June 24, 1904, was called to be the first bishop of the newly formed ward in LaVerkin. Serving for 24 years, Morris’ leadership profoundly influenced the new town spiritually, economically, and socially.
  • Parley P. Pratt –– Southern Exploring Company, 1849 (# 135)
    Sponsor: Hurricane Valley Chapter, 2007
    Location: At the far west end of Center Street, LaVerkin, overlooking the confluence of Ash and LaVerkin Creeks with the Virgin River. T is a companion monument to a similar structure on the opposite side of the gorge in Hurricane.The confluence of the Ash and LaVerkin Creeks and the Virgin River is important in the history of this region. In November 1849, Brigham Young commissioned Parley P. Pratt to assemble an exploring party of 50 men with necessary wagons and provisions to explore the southern region of Utah. They were to explore south to the rim of the Great Basin, over the rim to the Virgin River country, go no farther than Las Vegas Springs and return by spring. They were sent to find locations with the right combinations of water, soil, timber, grazing, and climate for possible settlements. The monument describes their 716-mile arduous journey, and contains the list of men who participated. Many of these men returned to settle the Iron and Cotton Missions. Parley was less than enthusiastic about the Virgin River country, calling it “a wide expanse of chaotic matter –– a country in ruins.”

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

NEW HARMONY, UTAH

  • Fort Harmony (UPTLA #59)
    Sponsors: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and members of Parowan Stake, 1936
    Location: South of New Harmony Valley LibraryFort Harmony was established May 9, 1854, by John D. Lee, Richard Woolsey, William R. Davis and others who had founded Harmony in 1852. The wall was 300 feet square. Houses on the east side were one story and wall 10 feet high; on the west side two stories and wall 16 feet high. Kanarra and Harmony Creeks supplied water for irrigation. The Fort was finally abandoned in February 1852, following heavy storms that caused the walls to crumble and fall. Harmony was the county seat of Washington County until 1959, and was the headquarters of the Mormon Mission to Lamanites in 1853-1854

PINE VALLEY, UTAH

  • Pine Valley Monument (SUP #123)
    Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter, 2006
    Location: In front of the historic Pine Valley Chapel at the intersection of Pine Valley Road and Main Street.
    GPS: N 37° 23′ 29.61″ W 113° 30′ 52.86″The monument commemorates the logging of wood from Pine Valley Mountain in 1866 and 1867 to build both the famous chapel in Pine valley and the organ pipes in the historic Salt Lake City Tabernacle.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo SUP Monuments

ST. GEORGE, UTAH

    • St. George Memorial Plaza (SUP #72)
      Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter and Descendants of Erastus Snow, 1994
      Location: Adjacent to Zions Bank, c orner of St. George Boulevard and Main Street.
      GPS: N 37° 06′ 34.09″ W 113° 34′ 59.40”.
      This memorial consists of ten individual plaques installed in the plaza surrounding Zion ‘s Bank. Each plaque is mounted in native sandstone and depicts various homes and sites in the downtown area of historical significance. These are described below. The plaza also includes several additional sculptures and beautiful landscaping.

 

    • And the Desert Shall Blossom (SUP #72.01)
      When the original company of families entered the St. George Valley in 1861, they had little more than two small springs to rely on for drinking water. William Carter holds the distinction of plowing the first ditch in the valley. The water he channeled emerged from the spring which flows from the east edge of the red sandstone ledge north of the city. A ditch and wooden flume system was built throughout the town, conducting water from East and West Springs to the town.
    • Brigham Young Home (SUP #72.04)
      Brigham Young visited the southern settlements once each year to preach and uplift the saints. With the intent of having a winter home, in 1871 he bought a house, and added a spacious two-story front section in 1873. Brigham Young lived three to five months of the year in St. George until his death in 1877.
    • Dixie Academy (SUP #72.07)
      Completed in 1911, Dixie Academy became the forerunner of both Dixie High School and Dixie College.
    • Erastus Snow’s Big House (SUP #72.06)
      In 1867, Erastus Snow, LDS apostle, and presiding Mormon leader during the colonization of St. George, began construction of a four-story adobe home known as the “Big House.” This uncommonly large dwelling served as the executive mansion of the Southern Utah Mission. Beginning in 1888, Snow’s son Mahonri managed the house as a first class hotel for 25 years.
    • Gardener’s Club Hall (SUP #72.02)
      Built in 1867, just five years after St. George was settled, this hall is thought to be the oldest public building still standing in the city, pre-dating the courthouse, the tabernacle and the temple by several years. Located across the street north and a half block west of the Plaza, the one room structure was the meeting place for the Gardener’s Club, formed by horticulturalist Joseph F. Johnson. Johnson, with other experts Walter Dodge and Luther Hemenway, successfully promoted the growing of fruit trees, shrubs and flowers in this desert area. Johnson created model gardens on his own property where this hall and the home of Brigham Young later stood.
    • Pioneer Courthouse (SUP #72.05)
      By 1866, work had begun on the Washington County Courthouse. Three basement rooms were used as a jail and the first floor was county government offices. The second floor had a large assembly room used as a courtroom, and for government functions, civic group meetings, political gatherings, socials, dances, and school classrooms.
    • St. George Social Hall “Opera House” (SUP #72.03)
      The historical Social Hall, or Opera House, was built in 1875 and served as the center of social and cultural life in Dixie for 50 years. The building, with seating for 400, featured a mechanized floor which could be lowered several inches at the east end, allowing everyone an unobstructed view of the stage. For dances, the floor was returned to its level position.
    • St. George Tabernacle (SUP #72.09)
      Less than a year after St. George was settled, residents were directed by Brigham Young to “build a building as soon as possible which would be commodious, substantial, and well furnished, with a seating capacity of 2,000.” The result was the handsome and graceful red sandstone St. George Tabernacle, eventually completed in May 1876.
    • St. George Temple (SUP #72.08)
      Work had begun on the Salt Lake temple in 1853, but was often delayed. Desirous of seeing a temple built before his death, Brigham Young chose St. George as the site to achieve this goal. Begun in November 1871, the completed temple was dedicated in April 1877, the first LDS temple to be dedicated in the West. Apostle Wilford Woodruff was the first president.
    • Woodward School (SUP #72.01)
      It was not until the end of the 1800s that work on a large, substantial school began. Woodward School was completed in 1901, named after George Woodward, one of the trustees who had devoted his time and means to making better education a reality in St. George.
    • Early Aircraft Navigation Marker (SUP #130)
      Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter, 2007
      Location: St. George, Utah, South Gate Hill, Sir Monte Drive
      GPS: N 37° 03′ 52.42″, W 113° 35′ 44.96″This monument commemorates the Navigation Arrows that were placed at strategic locations around the United States to allow early air traffic to “find their way.” Western Air Express made the first regularly scheduled overland passenger flight in the USA on May 23, 1926, from Salt Lake City, Utah, to Los Angeles, California. A 50-foot concrete arrow on South Gate Hill was one of four placed in the St. George area. Arrows were placed every 10 miles for airplanes to be able to fly in that direction until they came to the next arrow, assisting navigation by mail and passenger planes. Steel Posts held coal oil lamps to illuminate arrows after dark.
    • Shem, Shivwits Band Chieftain (SUP #112)
      Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter

      Location:
      St. George City Cemetery, southeast of the cemetery sexton’s building. Born in 1840, Shem was a well-known chieftain of the Shivwits Band. Highly respected by the new settlers and his own people, Shem served as a peacemaker for the two cultures. He converted to the LDS Church and was a faithful member. He died in 1930 at the age of ninety years. His grave had gone unmarked for many years.
    • Temple Quarry (SUP #81)
      Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter, 1996
      Location: 265 South Donlee Drive, St. George. A short hike is required from the parking lot.
      GPS: N 37° 06.172′, W 113° 35.758′Two plaques at the quarry site explain how lava stone was mined and cut at this site to be used in the construction of the St. George Temple.

 

WASHINGTON CITY, UTAH

  • Adair Springs Monument
    Sponsor: Cotton Mission Chapter, 1996
    Location: Telegraph Street and Main Street in Washington, Utah This monument honors early settlers in Washington City.

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Weber County, Utah

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Indian Trails Monument (SUP #i-1)
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter, with BSA Council, 1984
    Location: Summit of North Ogden Canyon.
    GPS: N 41° 19.226´, W 111° 53.925´Indian bands of the Shoshone Tribe wandered from area to area on a network of well traveled trails throughout the region. Pathfinders, trappers and explorers, including Peter Skene Ogden, followed the well worn Indian trails through Utah Territory. Brigham Young sent exploring parties north and south along the Indian trails west of the Wasatch Mountains to locate places for settlements. This monument identifies the five Indian Lodge Trails that radiated from Ogden Valley with maps and detailed information on the many explorations along these trails.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • Pioneer Trail: Stoney Point Lookout (SUP #94)
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter, 2001
    Location: Accessible by trail from the Indian Trails Monument (above) – about ½ mile east.
    GPS: N 41°19′ 20.1″, W 111° 53′ 08.2″, elevation 5552 ftThis plaque explains the pioneering venture over North Ogden Pass into Ogden Valley. This area was first called “New Hole” by early trapper, Peter Skeen Ogden, and later “ Ogden ‘s Hole. The trail and lookout offer a view of the entire upper valley, Pine View Reservoir, and the towns of Liberty, Eden and Huntsville.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

HUNTSVILLE, UTAH

  • Jefferson Hunt (SUP #H)
    Sponsor: Jefferson Hunt Chapter, 1995
    Location: Old Town Square, at 7400 East and 200 South Streets, Huntsville, Utah.
    GPS: N 41° 15.622´, W 111° 46.206´Jefferson Hunt was converted to Mormonism in 1834. Migrating with the Mormons, he was commissioned a captain in the Mormon Battalion. Hunt and his family settled in the Salt Lake Valley in 1847. In 1851 he was called to help create the Mormon settlement in San Bernardino, California. He was a brigadier general in the California State Militia and a California State Assemblyman. He founded Huntsville, Utah in 1860 and was a representative to the Utah Territorial Legislature in 1863.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

OGDEN, UTAH

  • Captain James Brown (UPTLA #112)
    Sponsor: Descendants of Captain James Brown, Citizens of Weber County and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1947
    Location: Ogden Municipal Park, 2459 Washington Boulevard.Captain James Brown, Pioneer, soldier and one of the founders of Ogden, Utah He enlisted in the Mormon Battalion of the U. S. Army in the Mexican War, July 16, 1846, at Council Bluffs, Iowa, and was made Captain of Company C. At Santa Fe, Captain Brown was placed in charge of the sick detachment and ordered to Pueblo where they spent the winter of 1846-47 with a group of converts to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints enroute from Mississippi to the Salt Lake Valley. In the spring he marched his men by way of Fort Laramie and the South Pass, arriving in the Salt Lake Valley July 29, 1847, closely following Brigham Young’s vanguard company. Early in August Brown went to California to collect the Army pay due members of the Battalion. Returning late in 1847, he stopped at the Fort of Miles Goodyear, a trapper, located near the junction of the Ogden and Weber Rivers. From Goodyear he purchased for $3,000 all of the land now comprising Weber County, together with some livestock and the Fort. This entire area being at that time a part of Mexico, the land was conveyed to Captain Brown in a Mexican land grant. In January, 1848, he settled here with his family and began the colonization of Brownsville, later named Ogden. He was born September 30, 1801 and died September 30, 1863.
  • Jedediah Strong Smith (UPTLA #3)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1931
    Location: 2549 Washington Blvd. – Ogden City Municipal ParkSmith was an outstanding explorer, trapper, trader and devout Christian. He came to Utah with Wm. H. Ashley’s Expedition in 1824. Started first successful overland journey through Utah to the Pacific Coast from this vicinity August 22, 1826. Substantially the same route was later followed by the main highway to Los Angeles.
  • John C. Fremont (UPTLA #33 & #1933)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and BSA Vanguard Troops 516 Ogden 12th Ward, Oct. 2, 1933
    Location: At the highest point of Little Mountain, west on 12th St., Ogden, 10½ miles west of the intersection with 1900 West (Hwy 126) and 12th St. (Hwy 39)
    GPS: N 41° 15′ 17.2″, W 112° 14′ 19.5″. The location is now on a military (Air Force) reservation and is available only by escorted visit.Pathfinder, scholar and political leader, John C. Fremont and a party of four, with Kit Carson as guide, viewed the Great Salt Lake and made geographical observations from this point, September 6, 1843. They explored western Weber County while camped on the Weber River, and explored the nearest island, (now Fremont). Fremont rendered valuable service in establishing the claims of the United States to the territory between the Missouri River and the Pacific Ocean through exploration trips in 1842, ’43 and ’45. His report and maps published in 1845 contained the first detailed information regarding this territory. This report was of great assistance to Brigham Young and the Mormon Pioneers on their journey westward in 1847.(Note) Text “corrections” were made from the original plaque, the plaque number changed to 1933 instead of the original number 33, no longer included the buffalo skull logo of the Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, and a new plaque reinstalled by the National Honor Society of Fremont High School, May 18, 1996.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo
  • John Henry Weber
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter, 1992
    Location: Ogden City Park, Washington Blvd., Ogden, Utah.
    GPS: N 41° 13.217´, W 111° 58.275´In 1823, John Henry Weber led the first party of American trappers across the continental divide. By a circuitous route, Weber and his trappers arrived in Cache Valley by the summer of 1824. That same summer, Jim Bridger, a member of the Weber party, discovered the Salt Lake. Later that fall, Weber led his party of trappers to the river which now bears his name.
  • Lorin Farr (UPTLA #45)
    Sponsors: Ogden Stake Mutual Improvement Association and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1937
    Location: The southeast corner 21st St. and Washington Boulevard.Lorin Farr, 1820 – 1909, was a Pioneer religious and civic leader. He was a Utah Pioneer of 1847. He was a friend and staunch supporter of Joseph Smith, the Prophet, and assisted in the settlement of Nauvoo, Illinois, where he helped build the LDS Temple. He was the first President of Weber Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, a member of the first Territorial Legislature and a member of the convention that framed the constitution of the State of Utah. He assisted in laying out the original plat of the City of Ogden, organized the first city government and became its first mayor. He built and operated the first grist mill and saw mill in Weber County and, with others, constructed the first highway through Ogden, Canyon. Tullidge, a contemporary Utah historian, proclaimed him “Ogden’s most representative citizen.”
  • Lorin Farr (UPTLA #113)
    Sponsors: Descendants of Lorin Farr, Citizens of Weber County, and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1947
    Location: Ogden Municipal Park, 2549 Washington Blvd.Lorin Farr, Utah pioneer of 1847, one of the founders of Ogden, established Farr’s Fort in 1850 and assisted in laying out the city and organizing its first government. In 1851, he became the first Mayor, serving twenty-two years, twenty years without pay. The deed to Ogden was made by Ulysses S. Grant, President of the United States, to Lorin Farr as Mayor. In 1850 he built Weber County’s first sawmill and grist-mill, and with others in 1868, built the first woolen factory in northern Utah . In 1857, with Newton Goodal and others, he built the first road through Ogden Canyon. Under his direction Weber County was surveyed and irrigation canals and roads were built. He was a leading contractor on the Central Pacific Railroad west from Ogden to Promontory.Civic and religious leader, Lorin Farr was a staunch friend and supporter of the Prophet Joseph Smith, assisting in the settlement of Nauvoo, Illinois, and in building the Temple. He came to Utah with Brigham Young in 1847. In January 1851, he became the first President of the Weber Stake of Zion, serving until 1870. He directed the building of the Ogden Tabernacle in 1855-56. He was a member of the first Territorial Legislature for thirty years, serving longer than any other member, and was a member of the Convention that framed the Constitution of the State of Utah. A friend to the Indians, he was known among them as “Chief”. Upon the approach of Johnston’s Army in 1858, the “move south” was conducted under his direction. He was a statesman and colonizer of great ability. Historian Edward Tullidge proclaimed him “Ogden’s most representative Citizen.”
  • Miles Goodyear Cabin (UPTLA #41)
    Sponsors: Weber County Camp, Daughters of Utah Pioneers and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: 2150 Grant Ave., next to DUP Museum and Ogden LDS Temple.
    This cabin, built about 1841 by Miles Goodyear, is (as far as is known) the first permanent house built in Utah. It stood near the junction of the Ogden and Weber Rivers. In 1848 it was sold to Captain James Brown of the Mormon Battalion with a Spanish Land Grant which covered all of Weber County. It was preserved by Minerva Stone Shaw and was presented by her to the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers, Weber County Chapter, who placed it on its present site.
  • Ogden Canyon Toll Gate( UPTLA #44)
    Sponsors: Troop 12 Ogden District, Boy Scouts of America and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1934
    Location: At the mouth of Ogden Canyon – Valley Dr. and Canyon Rd. – on the east end of the north parking lot of Rainbow Garden.805 feet north of this site was located the toll gate established November 15, 1860 by Lorin Farr and Isaac Goodale, builders of the first road through Ogden Canyon. From 1865 to 1882 it was operated by the Ogden Canyon Road Company with the original builders and John Taylor as principal stockholders. James Dinsdale was gate-keeper for fourteen years. It became a public road February 20, 1882.
  • Original Pioneer Settlers of Weber County (SUP #133)
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter 2007
    Location: Plaque located in second floor hallway in the Ogden City Municipal Bldg.
    Nineteen names are listed for the Original Pioneer Settlers of Weber County who arrived with their families in 1848.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

     

  • Pierre-Jean DeSmet (UPTLA #72)
    Sponsors: Utah State Council Knights of Columbus and Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1937
    Location: Lester Park, at southeast corner of 24th St. and Jefferson Ave.
    DeSmet was a priest of the Society of Jesus 1801-1873. A courageous Missionary to the American Indians 1838-1868. Father DeSmet became well acquainted with the region of the Great Salt Lake, and gave much valuable information to Brigham Young and the Mormon Pioneers while they were at Winter Quarters, Nebraska in 1846.
  • SUP Pioneer Handcart
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter, 1999
    Location: DUP museum, 2150 Grant Ave., Ogden, UT.
    GPS: N 41° 13.686 W 111° 58.368.This handcart was found in an antique shop in Bellevue, Iowa, purchased by the Ogden Pioneer Chapter and restored by Julius Geilman. It is believed to have been used by pioneers on their journey west, then used by missionaries when they returned east on their missions.
  • Union Station Golden Spike (UPTLA #120)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, Union Pacific Railroad Company, Southern Pacific Company, Golden Spike Celebration Committee of Ogden, 1951
    Location: Union Station, 25th Street and Wall Avenue.“Weld the Past to the Present to Enrich the Future.” This monument is a grateful tribute to the builders of America’s first transcontinental railroad completed May 10, 1869, when the Golden Spike was driven at Promontory Summit, Utah, 53 miles northwest of Ogden. The monument was dedicated May 10, 1951, to honor those pioneers who built better than they knew, and to encourage for all time the same joy of doing.
  • Early Weber College Campus & Moench Building (SUP #104)
    Sponsor: Ogden Pioneer Chapter and Weber State University, 2001
    Location: About 2465 Jefferson Ave. across the street from the entrance to the Weber County Library.

    GPS: N 41° 13.273′, W 111° 57.898′The monument identifies the location of the former Weber College Campus, near downtown Ogden, which occupied most of this city block until 1954. The monument is placed near the location of the Moench Building, the earliest and most identifying building on the old campus. The building remained there until it was torn down in 1970, even after the campus was moved to the east bench above the city where it is today as Weber State University.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo SUP Photo

Back to Utah Links

Back to top

Wyoming

Back to top

RURAL LOCATIONS

  • Martin’s Cove (UPTLA #28)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer trails and Landmarks Association & Citizens of Wyoming, 1933
    Location: Martin’s Cove (near Devils Gate, Wyoming).
    GPS: N 42° 27′ 15.95″ W 107° 14′ 16.04″, elevation 6201 ft.Survivors of Captain Edward Martin’s handcart company of Mormon emigrants from England to Utah were rescued here in perishing condition about Nov 12, 1856. Delayed in starting and hampered by inferior carts, the company was overtaken by an early winter. Three earlier companies reached Utah in safety. But Insufficient food and clothing and severe weather caused many deaths among the two later companies, led by Martin and Willie. Among the Martin company of 576, including aged people and children, the fatalities numbered 145. Toward the end, every campground became a graveyard. Just Prior to the rescue, most of the company found refuge at the large, natural cove in the cliffs. Some survived in shelters in a stockade and mail station at nearby Devil’s Gate.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo SUP Photo
  • Martin Handcart Company, Arza Hinckley (SUP #U)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1970
    Location: Martin’s Cove in Wyoming
  • Willie Handcart Company (UPTLA #27)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association and Members of Lyman Stake, 1933
    Location: Rock Creek (near South Pass), Wyoming.Captain James G. Willie’s handcart company of Mormon emigrants on the way to Utah, greatly exhausted by the deep snows of an early winter and suffering from lack of food and clothing, had assembled here for reorganization by relief parties from Utah, about the end of October, 1856. Thirteen persons were frozen to death during a single night and were buried here in one grave. Two others died the next day and were buried nearby. Of the company of 404 persons, 77 perished before help arrived. The survivors reached Salt Lake City November 9, 1856. An additional plaque gives the names of those who died – “whose journey started too late and ended too early.”

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

FORT BRIDGER, WYOMING

  • The Mormon Wall (UPTLA #25)
    Sponsor: Utah Pioneer Trails and Landmarks Association, 1933
    Location: Fort Bridger, WyomingOn August 3, 1855, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, concluded arrangements for the purchase of Fort Bridger from Louis Vasquez, partner of James Bridger, for $8,000. Final payment was made October 18, 1858. A cobblestone wall was erected in the fall of 1855, replacing Bridger’s stockade. A few additional log houses were built within the fort. The fort was evacuated and burned on the approach of Johnston’s Army September 27, 1857. A portion of the wall is here preserved. In 1855, Fort Supply was established by Brigham Young six miles south where crops were raised for the emigrants.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

FORT LARAMIE, WYOMING

  • Mormon Pioneers at Fort Laramie (SUP #49)
    Sponsor: Mills Chapter, 1992
    Location: North Platte Museum, City of Ft. Laramie, four miles north of the Fort.On June 1, 1847, pioneers reached the North Platte River after their trek of 543 miles
    from Winter Quarters. The saints crossed the river on June 3rd by a ferry rented from
    Fort Laramie superintendent, James Bordeaux. Traveling another 116 miles from the
    fort, saints had to once again cross the North Platte River. Here, they built their own
    ferry to cross the river. Nine men remained at the site to help other Mormon emigrant
    companies and to provide ferry service for other groups of Missourians headed westward
    for payment of food and provisions.

Back to top

Greece

Back to top

SPARTA, CENTRAL SQUARE, GREECE

  • Lycurgus, Spartan Lawgiver, 9th century BC (SUP #G)
    Sponsor: Sons of Utah Pioneers, 1955Lycurgus created a constitution for Sparta and established the Senatorial System, giving
    the people a voice in government. Dr. Avard Tennyson Fairbanks, a well-known LDS
    artist, was commissioned to create the sculpture.The original sculpture is displayed at the Fairview, Utah Museum of History and Art.

    CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO VIEW
    SUP Photo

Back to top